Crab & Avocado Salad with Fruit Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MAXMSF
Reviewed: May 23, 2005
I admit that I was a bit skeptical of this one. While I enjoy mango, I was afraid it would detract from the crab (in which we were heavily, financially and shelling!) On the contrary, the mango and avocado were great compliments and I would recommend this to anyone looking for variety from eating crab straight out of the shell, or if your crab isn't the highest quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
There's something to be said about a salad where the ingredients stand on their own for incredible flavor, needing no more than salt, pepper and a little fresh lime juice for dressing. Fresh and refreshing, colorful, elegant, beautiful for sure, inarguably nutritious, full-flavored, satisfying and, oh yeah, simply delicious. I chose to use mango, parsley and added a little minced jalapeno pepper. A true masterpiece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
Made this for a "all-girls" lunch & it was the biggest hit!! Everyone loved it & requested the recipe. I bought really high quality lump crabmeat & it was unreal! I even submitted this to my son's school for a cookbook fundraiser. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
So Good!! We've made this probably 3 times since finding this recipe!! I used some substitutions... king crab legs instead of processed, choose peaches green long onions instead of red, Found it to be a little "too=something" the first time... mixed it with fresh spinach leaves as a base, and we loved it... so healthy and delicious! combo seems weird but it works wonderfully! Humble opinion.. BON APETITE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This is an awesome summer salad for a light dinner on a hot day. My husband that runs from anything healthy loves this. I did try it with imitation crab meat and it was still delicious. All the flavors go together very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
This is a good summer salad...easy and delicious. It can be made ahead and kept in the frig for those busy summer days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by timbertiger
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This was just the recipe for me to use up a "perfect storm" of ingredients - crab, mango, avacado, bell peppers, and red onion (nice and sweet). Added basil (I pretty much add it to everything!). I used A LOT more peppers since I had so many (1 1/2 WHOLE peppers), and I'm glad I did. The avacado is also key to this recipe. I had to use frozen, imitation crab, but this would be much better with fresh. All in all, an interesting, BEAUTIFUL recipe - glad I tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by timbertiger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise, Montana, USA
Living In: Superior, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Easy to make and delicious! I've made this twice. The first time I substituted shrimp and the second I used imitation crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
One of the best things I've had in my life! I used mango and cilantro and scaled down the recipe for just 2 servings. It was beautiful and tasted heavenly. So refreshing and light yet so flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
This was very delicious. I sliced the avocado since I needed to stretch it a little bit farther and put it on a bed of spring mix lettuces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Crab Salad

This quick, creamy salad is tops spread on sandwiches or over crackers.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States