Cowpoke Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2003
My husband & I LOVE this recipe. It's thick & pasty & hearty ~ perfect comfort food. I use a lot more bacon & a lot more garlic. Everything else I do exactly as she says, & we honestly hold this recipe as one of our very favorites. I even chose it as the one to give out in a recipe tree I was involved in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
I made this for my family and they loved it. We don't like things too hot but with good flavor and this one has it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maud, Texas, USA
Living In: De Kalb, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
This recipe was fine, but I feel that the spices weren't strong enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
Awesome recipe! Great with smoked ribs, brisket, chicken, etc. I substituted the stewed tomatoes with Rotel tomatoes and it has been a big hit time and time again. Thanks for sharing T. Pringle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
These beans had good flavor, but I found them to have no sauce to speak of. Not sure why, I followed the drections exactly, and others haven't had this problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
Tasted strange and not much like chili as I know it, even for vegetarian chili. My husband loved the balance of spices used, so I thought next time I'd try adding some ground beef for that more traditional chili flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I love these beans! I never seem to have the marjoram on hand, but I use all the rest of the ingredients mostly as measured. If I happen to have a ham bone, I'll use it and chunks of ham instead of bacon. I also add a jalapeno when boiling for more flavor with a kick. The secret is the added tomato mixture and letting the flavors meld together. We make a meal out of it with cornbread on the side. NOTE: This is not a chili recipe, so you'll have to hunt the website a little longer if that's what you are looking for. These are just good old fashioned Southern comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
These beans are in their final stages, cooking on my stove as we speak. Fantastic! Rarely do I find beans which have so much complexity. DELISH!!! The only thing I did differently is add a jalapeno from my garden while boiling the beans. YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
GREAT recipe! Made these exactly as written, though I simmered the beans with a large jalapeno pepper...seeds and all...mixed in. This recipe is a must try, and I can't wait to mix with other add-ins. Thanks so much for sharing this one. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
These were awesome! I put them over rice for dinner and added some sliced smoked sausage. Could use a little more liquid if putting over rice, but as is would be great as a side to a brisket! Loved it.Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Rocket Beans

See how to make an amazing arugula, bacon, and butter bean side dish.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States