Cowpoke Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This recipe pleased everyone in my family. I made no changes and am glad I didn't - it was excellent! Thank you for a wonderful recipe! I'll definitely be making this one frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Great recipe! However, I used some substitutes: one bone-in ham steak for bacon, diced tomatoes for stewed. Added about a half cup of mild, pickled jalapenos and then added some of the jalapeno juice to loosen up the tomato mixture. Maybe about a half cup. The tang and heat kicked it up perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoanL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Clockwork
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This was a pretty good recipe. Not exactly what I was looking for (more of a Tex-Mex pot of beans) but incredibly tasty nonetheless. I did add lots of salt though as it seemed to be lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clockwork

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I love these beans! I never seem to have the marjoram on hand, but I use all the rest of the ingredients mostly as measured. If I happen to have a ham bone, I'll use it and chunks of ham instead of bacon. I also add a jalapeno when boiling for more flavor with a kick. The secret is the added tomato mixture and letting the flavors meld together. We make a meal out of it with cornbread on the side. NOTE: This is not a chili recipe, so you'll have to hunt the website a little longer if that's what you are looking for. These are just good old fashioned Southern comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Loved this recipe! It is very like the nine-bean soup recipe that came with my crock pot back in the 80's. will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
My picky husband and I loved this recipe and he said "it's a keeper!" Served it as a side dish to bbq'd pork ribs. After some taste samplings, I added about a palm full (roughly 1 tablespoon) of brown sugar and about 1/2 cup Masterpiece Barbeque Sauce. Those seemed to be the "missing ingredients" of this bean dish, and it tastes even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Marshall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I love cooking various heirloom beans and I'm always looking for new "pot o' beans" flavoring ideas. This is a nice pot of beans, but I was running late and didn't add the bacon. Mistake. It needed the bacon. In fact, for a pound of beans I will use more than four slices. Next time, with the bacon, I predict this will be at least a 4 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
These beans are in their final stages, cooking on my stove as we speak. Fantastic! Rarely do I find beans which have so much complexity. DELISH!!! The only thing I did differently is add a jalapeno from my garden while boiling the beans. YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I did tweak this slightly to make just a tad healthier by subbing olive oil for butter, home canned tomatoes for stewed tomatoes (less sodium) and omitting the salt. This was still absolutely delicious. This will be my pinto bean recipe from now on! First class!!! P.S. May add just a tad of jalapeno in the future...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
this was a great bean recipe, i of course aded more bacon we are a bacon loving family, and it paired super nicely with some corn bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

How to Make Dilly Beans

These string beans will add zing to your salads all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States