Cowboy Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Yummy! I sent this recipe to my two college kids to try because it's so easy and good. I changed the recipe just a little and forgot the apricot sauce. I'll try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Adams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
How many of you people have husbands that don't cook and complain about the meal or eating leftovers? I think you married the wrong person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyaun Regan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
OK, so I did not follow this EXACTLY. I really just jumped on the idea of using pork meat with taco seasoning, salsa, and apricot preserves as a base taco filling and it was delicious! I just threw all of those ingredients in a dish, baked it until heated through, and everyone gobbled it up. No leftovers! Super easy, healthy; this will be a staple in our house. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Very good. A real "keeper." Washed and drained my chili beans and added a squirt of lemon juice. Filled taco shells, topped with some grated cheese, then placed in 300 oven for 7 minutes. Crunchy deliciousness - rave reviews! (I always do the oven thing with tacos. My sister-in-law taught me this little trick many years ago.) I have another recipe that uses concentrated lemonade. May try that in place of the apricot preserves some other time. Thanks for posting this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Essary Nelson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quanah, Texas, USA
Living In: Elk Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Made ours with leftover shredded beef roast. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I started with raw cubed pork loin as that is what I had. It might have worked better with leftover, pre-cooked shredded pork roast, but pork loin turned out rubbery. By the time I added an undrained can of chili beans plus the salsa, it was so soupy there was no way I could serve it in taco shells. We did as another reader suggested, and served on chips nacho-style. I added a quarter cup each diced onion and bell pepper as the recipe seemed a bit void of ingredients (pork, beans, apricots?). In any event, my husband and I found it just a little too weird, a little too sweet, and I won't make it again. I'd rather have just regular tacos with ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I LOVE tacos, wraps and burrito type meals. They can be enjoyed by vegans, vegetarians, and meat-a-sauruses alike. And at the same meal, too! I do this recipe with black beans in place of pork, for me. But will offer the meat for non-veggies. The apricots provide a stunning taste bud experience with the other ingredients. Delish! When I skip the meat, I also skip the taco seasoning. I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ashland, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
By far, the best tacos on this site! I did it a little different than the recipe but it was awesome. I mixed the salsa, preserves and beans in the crockpot, seared off the pork on the stove and added it to the crockpot. I cooked it on low for 3 hours. Absolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This was delicious! I was hesitent of the apricot preserves, but it does give the dish a nice flavor. Also worked great for leftovers; the sauce thickens up a little bit so you can use soft shells more easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
This was really good. A bit soupy, but a slotted spoon solves that. For me a bit sweet (never really been a sweet person), but husband thought it had perfect flavor. I would recommend if you aren't really a sugar person to half the apricot preserves. I used pre-sliced pork that was cut thin and long, like for fajitas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Smoked Sausage Tacos

Put a simple smoked-sausage twist on taco night.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States