Cowboy Stew II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This stew is quick, easy, delicious and filling! I added garlic and a half jar of jalapeños because it was cold out and a spicy stew was just what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanderer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This is the stew my body has been craving. My mother used to make this for me as a child, and my son-in-law, an Eagle Scout; reintroduced me. I love this with a not too sweet cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DwightNT

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Irving, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I thought this stew was awesome. I dont care for stew with tomatoes in it but this was delicious. I substituted Rotel's "Hot" version, added two cut up russetts and some peppers. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This is a quick fix, warm dinner. I substitute frozen veggies for canned. This is a meal with a little imagination you can add what you have in your cupboards. ie chili beans instead of kidney etc. We all love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Excellent "quick-fix" that everyone loves! I added a drained can of mixed vegetables, instead of the green beans, and just before it finished cooking I added a handful of egg noodles. Men & boys loooove this dish! For a change in flavor, consider adding curry powder too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I found this stew very delicious and filling, and it was a recipe I was able to put together at the last minute with simple ingredients I already had in my kitchen. I didn't have any canned corn, so I used a 16 oz. bag of frozen corn and it worked just fine. I didn't drain the kidney beans to make up for the water that would have been in the canned corn. I didn't use a separate skillet to brown the ground beef--I simply browned the beef and cooked the onions together in my stew pot before draining and adding the remaining ingredients. I used 1 teaspoon salt and 1/2 teaspoon pepper, and that seemed to add just the right amount of seasoning. Good stuff! Nice alternative to chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathie H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Not bad tasting, but probably would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
So good! I did add a clove of garlic and some minced jalepeno's for extra flavor; probably use more garlic next time. Used about 1.5 cups of frozen corn and gr. beans in place of canned. Served it with mexican blend cheese and sour cream on top. Ohhh, yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
awesome, you can spice this recipe up, or leave as is for a good soup/stew on a cold night. I added various spices, and a can of diced tomatoes, whole potatoes, an extra can of green bean and a can of peas. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armitagegirl82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JuiceMom
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
This recipe is definately a 5 star recipe for ease and versatility. I often saute ground beef and just freeze it for future use. With the beef presauteed this would be a VERY quick easy meal. Seems like a cross between baked beans and chili. You can add or omit as you see fit. I sauteed the ground beef with garlic, onion, coriander, cumin, chopped carrots and chipotle peppers. Then threw in the beans, tomatoes, and corn. I also added a can mild chilis. I served it over brown rice, but it would be good over potatoes too (maybe cowboy mashed potatoes from this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States