Cowboy Stew II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
It was easy to make and had a good taste. I did add two cans of new potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Really simple - really yummy! We had to leave the beans out because of an allergy in the family, but I'm sure it's even better with them! Definitely recommend this recipe for camping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I have made this several times now. It is easy and flavorful. I made a little addition of 1 large can of tomato paste and use italian seasoning instead of the oregano. Everyone gets a chuckle at the name but love it when they taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Kovacs Morelli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scotland, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Good stew will add it to our recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Hughes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I didn't think I'd like this but it was very good. A typical scout camp meal. In keeping with tradition, I added a little ketchup on the side! Very fast, easy and good. Not fancy, and also a good traveling meal as you don't need to use any fresh ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'gal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Took this in a crockpot camping and served it with Tostitos Scoops as a dip/snack!! I think I may have used diced tomatoes instead of stewed though just because I didn't pay attention to what I was buying! It was a definite hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This was very good comfort food and extremely easy to prepare. Can feed a crowd. I did use frozen green beans and corn, increased the cooking time a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryElizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I loved this quick and easy recipe. I added fresh garlic, cumin, red pepper flakes and garlic salt to the mixture... it was delicious over noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
My stepdad used to make this stew for us as kids. I like his recipe a bit better. He didn't chop the onions, instead he cut them into eighths and peeled them to the core. Also some potatoes and carrots chopped and tossed in really adds some texture. He also used quite a bit of beef broth as most of it would evaporate with cooking. He let the stew sit in the fridge for two days and then cooked it for a whole day in a huge pot, but crockpots work as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackiekelly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Suprisingly good for the effort needed. I like things hot so I used salsa (hot) in lieu of the tomatoes, but other than that stayed pretty true.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States