Cowboy Stew I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
We have updated the nutrition to this recipe to assign the proper cooked nutritional analysis for the beef. It was causing the grams of fat to show much higher than they actually are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
All I can say is -- FIFTY FOUR GRAMS OF FAT??? Made this (and ate this) before looking at the nutritional information. It was very tasty, however, if I'm going to eat 900 calories and 54 grams of fat in one sitting again, it sure as heck won't be from stew! Yikes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POPPASQUASH

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tiverton, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
This looked like slop in a pot BUT it was VERY GOOD! Typically, I like spicier chili's while my boyfriend prefers mild. Even though this is a very mild chili, it was really good and my boyfriend ate a couple bowls himself! It is very thick - but then again, it is a STEW. Still, with a little shredded cheese over the top, this was great! Thanks again LaDonna for another great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2000
My husband loves this better than Chili. It goes together so easy & taste even better the next day. Everyone that we have served it to loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2000
It tasted like low budget chili from a can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2000
This is a good recipe for cold days, and very good with cornbread or corn muffins. Makes a complete meal and makes you warm inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2000
I've made this several times and each time it was quick, easy and enjoyed by all. It's especially good for cold evenings and sports-themed parties (i.e. Super Bowl parties!). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Just ok, and wouldn't make again. Doesn't get much easier though. After tasting it I added some hot sauce, and some garlic powder, and even some hot dog. It'd probably be good as is with corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
Very easy but tasty! Watch the simmer as the creamed corn burns easily. I serve over rice and skip the sour cream. ETA ~ The last time I made this, I got smart and used my slow cooker. It worked great, no burnt corn! I just browned the meat and then threw everything together in the cooker and set it on high. I think I let it cook for about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEMPER

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
My husband loved this. Quick and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States