Cowboy Stew I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Very good alternative to normal chili. Used ground venison and worked well. Mine turned out slightly sweet which I think was from the type of baked beans I used. Family approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Very good. I "doctored" this the way that I would baked beans - added some mustard powder (1 tsp, maybe), a shake or two of Paprika and a shake or two of chili powder, and maybe 1/4 c brown sugar. The sweet and hot of it was WONDERFUL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
My boyfriend had to add Tabasco sauce in it, as it wasn't spicy enough. Other than that, he said it was the best chili thus far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I made this and was a little skeptical at the appearance of the final result, but my husband LOVED it and asked me to please make it again. I did make one change to the original recipe that helped make it so successful: I didn't have a can of diced green chiles, so I substituted a few tablespoons of green tomatillo salsa. It gave the stew a smoky character that helped counteract the sweetness of the corn and tomato sauce. One other change: We don't eat pork, so I used a can of vegetarian baked beans. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Indeed, Slop in a Pot, but oh so tasty!! I do felt that it needed a little something, so next time I may add a little jalapenos or something, I'm not sure yet. Hubby and our 2 yr old absolutely Loved it! Going into the monthly rotation :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
This was *sorta* like chili, but not quite. With the corn, baked beans and tomato sauce, it's closer to having chili with some side dishes already thrown in. So it's not spicy like chili, no, and I wouldn't expect it. Fairly good. It's what I call a "mac & cheese" meal, meaning just something simple for a Sunday supper. (And certainly something I could expect for cowboys :), or a campout.) I didn't think it was great or anything, but super easy, pull out the canned stuff while the meat is cooking, thrown the rest in, you're done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
We all loved this, quick and easy. Will make this again. My kids loved this without the cheese and my huband and I liked with the cheese and some chopped red onion and cilantro on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOOMUCHWORK

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Great Bend, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Great recipe. I added a 22 oz of Icehouse for extra flavor. Extra tip, to make extra spicy just in case everyone can not eat spicy foods, I added pepper jack cheese with jalapeno peppers. Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
My husband said that this was the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
This tasted alot like chili! I also made the mistake of using can jalapenos instead of chili's...but was a GREAT mistake! When I realized what I did right after I dumped them in I scooped some of them back out. So I think I used about half the can. Next time, yes, next time I make this I will add a few less than a half can of jalapenos. It added a little kick. I also used tomato soup as I didn't have any tomato sauce. It was a little sweet but had a nice kick. I paired it with Beer Bread I from this site which was perfect together! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5 in family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States