Cowboy Skillet Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Really delicious, although I did change it to make it a little more "tex-mex" tasting (and so I didn't have to go to the store). I replaced the baked beans with black beans, and I added corn and salsa to the mix (about a cup of each. I'll make this again! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Delicious...I added a 1/2 can of corn to the cornbread and left out the peppers and onions (none in the house) and used Bush's Baked Beans with Maple Cured Bacon-YUM!!!!!! My husband and I felt that you definitely can't leave the veggies out of the meat mix, or it lacks that "something". Also, will try to make a little gravy for it next time. Overall, it was delicious, easy, and a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shortstack<3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I cook supper every Wednesday night for our church study group so I am always looking for recipes with 4 or 5 stars. That is why I chose this recipe. It was a big hit and people who normally only take one helping came back for seconds. Very filling and not to expensive to make. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valdese, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Newton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I have to review based on my husband's feedback because I am a vegetarian cook feeding an onmivore husband (in other words, I didn't eat it). Very easy meal that was hearty and seems very flexible. I see others have added canned corn and tomatoes. Will have to try that next time. Served with sour cream. Leftovers were gone quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I loved this recipe although it got mixed reviews from my family. My wife said she would like me to make it again but the kids were fussy about the peppers. A keeper for the recipe box! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by millerjf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Really simple to make. Family seemed to like it and was even good the next day. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I added a few extras but this is a really easy and great dinner to serve if you don't have a whole lot in your cabinets. I had great northern beans drained the juice and had rotel with chilis... i also added a bit more fajita seasoning and a bit of taco seasoning... I added salt and fresh ground pepper and greek seasoning......delicious hope my boyfriend likes it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauryn_420_03

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meadville, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This was quite a hit. I thought it would be too sweet with baked beans so I used two cans of chili beans. Also, I omitted the peppers and used taco seasoning. The only complaint was that it didn't have enough kick or any cheese. I'm making it again and adding Ro*tel tomatoes and topping with cheese. We'll see if that's enough or if I have to add extra chili powder the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Very tasty. I probably used to much cornbread and will scale that down next time. I didn't have the packet and just used my cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
This recipe was good. I changed it up a little by adding some cream of mushroom soup and chili sauce to the mix. I used taco seasoning instead, and used half of a red pepper and half orange. I added corn and used blackbeans. I also topped the mixture with cheese before pouring the cornbread over it. And then more cheese on top of the cornbread when it was close to being done. The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pauladean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States