Cowboy Skillet Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Pretty good but wasn't anything anyone was dying to have again. I don't know that I personally didn't care for the flavor that the baked beans added to it and if I made it again that would be something that I would look at making different. Quick and easy to make though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Oakland, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I loved the ease and quickness! Overall it was liked by the family, not a regular but a definite go to for those quick fixes! The beans may have made it a tad sweet so next time will try ranch style beans or pinto with jalapeno!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess Caves

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Heber, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
We liked this, but I thought the baked beans made the dish too sweet. Made it again with ranch style beans and it was perfect. Great quick dinner for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
We really enjoyed this. I did not have everything so I substituted and it turned out really good. We used chili beans instead of baked beans and added some canned corn. I used the fajita seasoning and liked it but I think next time I will stick with the chili beans and add some bbq sauce and maybe some slice olives. Very versatile! I am going to try it in our dutch oven when were camping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This recipe is great, but don't overcook the meat and veggies! I would suggest cooking the beef and onions together initially rather than waiting to add the onions. After the beef has started to brown and the onions are clear, then add the peppers and any other veggies you want, waiting to add the beans until right before you coat the skillet with the cornbread mix. If you follow this order then your meat and veggies will be cooked to a proper degree before being baked for 20 minutes. I also used a 15 oz box of cornbread mix rather than 8.5, and it turned out perfectly, enough to coat the entire skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Really delicious, although I did change it to make it a little more "tex-mex" tasting (and so I didn't have to go to the store). I replaced the baked beans with black beans, and I added corn and salsa to the mix (about a cup of each. I'll make this again! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Delicious...I added a 1/2 can of corn to the cornbread and left out the peppers and onions (none in the house) and used Bush's Baked Beans with Maple Cured Bacon-YUM!!!!!! My husband and I felt that you definitely can't leave the veggies out of the meat mix, or it lacks that "something". Also, will try to make a little gravy for it next time. Overall, it was delicious, easy, and a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shortstack<3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I cook supper every Wednesday night for our church study group so I am always looking for recipes with 4 or 5 stars. That is why I chose this recipe. It was a big hit and people who normally only take one helping came back for seconds. Very filling and not to expensive to make. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valdese, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Newton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I have to review based on my husband's feedback because I am a vegetarian cook feeding an onmivore husband (in other words, I didn't eat it). Very easy meal that was hearty and seems very flexible. I see others have added canned corn and tomatoes. Will have to try that next time. Served with sour cream. Leftovers were gone quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I loved this recipe although it got mixed reviews from my family. My wife said she would like me to make it again but the kids were fussy about the peppers. A keeper for the recipe box! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by millerjf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States