Cowboy Skillet Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
OMG another winner!!!!!! My family loved this....I made a few changes as usual...I added corn and used the Bush's Grilling Baked Beans!!! I fixed it in my dutch oven instead of my cast iron skillet....it was GONE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
It was too dry for me, (I had to smother it with sour cream) and I think I would have preferred it with taco seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAYDEEBUG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly but I had a huge bell pepper so I only used 1. My family thought that it would have been better with honey butter on the top. We sampled it with sour cream on top and that was yucky. I had very lean ground beef and will probably add a little butter when I put onion in. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I was very skeptical of this recipe, given the ingredients and the sometimes mixed reviews but I'm glad I tried it because this was awesome! My husband and I liked the slight sweetness that the baked beans brought in. I used Emeril's southwest seasoning for this, used a tablespoon of that, worked great, although I think next time I may just opt for using regular ol' taco seasoning. Also used 1/2 of a large green bell pepper, didn't really need much more than that. Last thing I did was that my skillet isn't oven friendly so I just put this all in a 7x11 glass dish and fit perfectly. Pieces of advice: make sure you use non-sweet cornbread unless you want it very sweet, and if you would prefer your whole dish to be savory, use something other than baked beans. I really like this dish, it was a definite surprise in a good way and it will definitely be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
This was absolutely delicious!! I made it exactly as stated and it was great. Next time I will probably use two tablespoons of the seasoning and, like another reviewer said, add some corn and pepperjack cheese to the cornbread mix. But really, still delicious as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
This was great, I added tons more veggies! Mushrooms, onion, garlic, peppers, corn. This was easy, and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
It's tasty, but I need 30 minutes to bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I made this the other night for my boyfriend and I and we both loved it! I'm not a big fan of baked beans so I used Ranch Style beans instead and also added a can of habenero Rotel. I cooked it in a 9 x 13 and used Jiffy cornbread with about a 1/8 c. sugar for extra sweetness (I LOVE sweet cornbread). My boyfriend actually ate the leftovers the next day...something he rarely does!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I really enjoyed this! Unfortunately my kids wouldn't touch it (picky) and my husband (meat & potato guy) wasn't really into it. I did change it though. I didn't have baked beans so I used ranch style beans. I also added a can of cream corn to add some sweetness because of the lack of baked beans. I also put a cup of shredded cheese into the meat mix and a green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by asobotka

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This was a great recipe! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States