Cowboy Skillet Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Wow - this meal really shocked us. It has such a unique combination of flavors that is so satisfying. I used plain corn bread NOT sweet, I also used ground turkey and you couldn't tell the difference. I used fajita seasoning and maybe 2/3 of a red bell. I cooked it in a 13x9 baking dish. So easy to make, you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Really liked. Added chopped jalapenos in the cornbread mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
nice ad easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
We really enjoyed this hearty meal. I used 1 large red pepper and 1 small onion that I cooked along with the ground beef. Increased the fajita seasoning to 2 Tbsp. and also added about 2 oz. of shredded pepperjack cheese that I had on hand. Also, I didn't have an oven-safe skillet so I used a 7x11 glass pan. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This was a disaster. Wasted so much meat I used 2 lbs. My family did not eat it. They tossed it to the dog and ate left over pizza. It will not make my keeper list. Sorry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tink

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
My husband and I loved this dish. I was looking for something different to do with some ground beef and this was an easy and fitting dish. I added some corn and sugar to the cornbread mix. It was a great addition. I also added some shredded cheddar on top. That really didn't seem to add much to it and I could probably do without. I plan to recommend to everyone at work tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I am taking this to a horseback trail ride potluck later, so I may update my review and tell you how the "real" cowboys, okay the "weekend" cowboys liked it, but my little taste here at home, it was very very good. My husband said I shouldn't take it (so he can eat it all here at home) My changes, I used green pepper instead of red. I have started a mission of trying to save money and see how much a dish costs. So the green pepper alone saved me 3.50, since 2 reds were $4 and I only used one green one for 50 cents. I did add some taco mix cheese in with the cornbread. All in all, I think it cost me around $7 by not adding alot of extra stuff. Great value for a great taste. Thank you for sharing. Update - not a single crumb left. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
OMG another winner!!!!!! My family loved this....I made a few changes as usual...I added corn and used the Bush's Grilling Baked Beans!!! I fixed it in my dutch oven instead of my cast iron skillet....it was GONE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
It was too dry for me, (I had to smother it with sour cream) and I think I would have preferred it with taco seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAYDEEBUG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly but I had a huge bell pepper so I only used 1. My family thought that it would have been better with honey butter on the top. We sampled it with sour cream on top and that was yucky. I had very lean ground beef and will probably add a little butter when I put onion in. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States