Cowboy Skillet Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I changed quite a bit about it, but i'm sure the regular recipe would be great. I used black beans, roasted red peppers (from a jar, they have more flavor), black olives, tomatoes and green chilies in the meat mixture and my own blend of spices for mexican type meals. I was worried the cornbread would be dry on top so I used half a cup of cream corn in that part and it was to die for! You can really customize the meat mixture to your family's taste, and it makes it a new way to eat mexican!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This is the perfect recipe for a simple weeknight meal. I added a can of corn as suggested by other reviewers. The family devoured this easy entree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Edible but not fantastic...will try again with some of the reviewer modification suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traycee:o)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Homewood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This was great! I had to make some changes based on what i had available and because i wanted to make enough to eat all week. I used 1 & 1/2 lbs. of ground beef, a whole onion, a can of jalapeno pintos, my dry rub for grilled meats instead of the fajita seasoning, and added a 10 oz can of "chili fixin's" style chopped tomato and green chilies and an additional 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes to substitute for the bell peppers... I didn't have any on hand. I followed another reviewer's advice to add a 1/2 cup of corn and 1 cup of pepper jack cheese to the cornbread mix and because i had leftover corn and cheese i added the remaining 1/2 cup of corn to the meat mix and topped it with the remaining 1 cup of cheese before adding the cornbread mix on top. Add a dollop of sour cream when serving and this is irresistible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bullard, Texas, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I didn't really follow the recipe at all... but thanks for the idea! I mostly only changed it because we didn't have a lot of the ingredients in the house, but I substituted similar ingredients and it was WONDERFUL. I went back to the store and bought all of the ingredients to make this one again but the right way, I'm sure it will be just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Here's the deal. Whip up your favorite chili (hot or mild/beans or no beans/white chili) in a cast iron skillet. Make package or homemade corn bread (or biscuits if you prefer) and cover the top with the mix. You can add corn and/or cheese if desired. Bake at 400° for 18-20 minutes until bread is done and golden brown. One dish dinner. Serve with salad and any toppings desired--tomatoes, sour cream, salsa, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Solon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Wow - this meal really shocked us. It has such a unique combination of flavors that is so satisfying. I used plain corn bread NOT sweet, I also used ground turkey and you couldn't tell the difference. I used fajita seasoning and maybe 2/3 of a red bell. I cooked it in a 13x9 baking dish. So easy to make, you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Really liked. Added chopped jalapenos in the cornbread mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
nice ad easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
We really enjoyed this hearty meal. I used 1 large red pepper and 1 small onion that I cooked along with the ground beef. Increased the fajita seasoning to 2 Tbsp. and also added about 2 oz. of shredded pepperjack cheese that I had on hand. Also, I didn't have an oven-safe skillet so I used a 7x11 glass pan. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States