Cowboy Skillet Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This was wonderful and easy. I had a bag of ancient sweets (red peppers) that I bought at Sams. I was going to make stuffed peppers. Unfortunately or fortunately, I over steamed them and looked for a different recipe. I found this one. I only had a can of Bush's Grillin Beans- the Fiesta variety. They already have green and red peppers, so I didn't put any peppers in the meat. I doubled the meat mixture- used taco seasoning instead of the fajita seasoning. I then doubled the corn bread mixture- I added 1/2 a can of corn and then two handfuls of the steamed red peppers. In addition to being delicious, the red peppers made the corn bread look on top look gorgeous. Since I don't have a cast iron skillet, I used a 9 x13 baker. It took a little while longer to cook the corn bread than the recipe indicated. This recipe was good enough that I asked my husband to buy the cast iron skillet....he's considering it! Try it and enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
You got me with this one. I used more ground beef ( I had some already browned and in freezer) and a 28 oz can of baked beans. This is a keeper. So easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I have to tell you, I had my doubts. But this is soooo good! I used chili beans, added 1/3 cup minced jalapenos to the cornbread mix as well as a teaspoon honey as was suggested. Then layered jalapeno pepper cheese with sharp cheddar on top of the meat and bean mixture.. then the corn bread mix, then baked. You won't be dissapointed!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Faribault, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This was so good! I did add some frozen corn to the mix and only put in 1 red bell pepper. As for my cornbread I added about 2/3 cup shredded cheddar cheese and about 2 tablespoons chopped jalepeno slices and about 1/2 tablespoons honey. The honey help balance out the jalepeno. This was also excellent leftover for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
We liked this and it is very easily customized. I added corn to the meat mixture and cheese to the cornbread. I also used some cooked pinto beans I had in the freezer instead of the baked beans and used a whole packet of taco seasoning in place of the fajita seasoninig. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danart920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I changed quite a bit about it, but i'm sure the regular recipe would be great. I used black beans, roasted red peppers (from a jar, they have more flavor), black olives, tomatoes and green chilies in the meat mixture and my own blend of spices for mexican type meals. I was worried the cornbread would be dry on top so I used half a cup of cream corn in that part and it was to die for! You can really customize the meat mixture to your family's taste, and it makes it a new way to eat mexican!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This is the perfect recipe for a simple weeknight meal. I added a can of corn as suggested by other reviewers. The family devoured this easy entree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Edible but not fantastic...will try again with some of the reviewer modification suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traycee:o)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Orland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This was great! I had to make some changes based on what i had available and because i wanted to make enough to eat all week. I used 1 & 1/2 lbs. of ground beef, a whole onion, a can of jalapeno pintos, my dry rub for grilled meats instead of the fajita seasoning, and added a 10 oz can of "chili fixin's" style chopped tomato and green chilies and an additional 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes to substitute for the bell peppers... I didn't have any on hand. I followed another reviewer's advice to add a 1/2 cup of corn and 1 cup of pepper jack cheese to the cornbread mix and because i had leftover corn and cheese i added the remaining 1/2 cup of corn to the meat mix and topped it with the remaining 1 cup of cheese before adding the cornbread mix on top. Add a dollop of sour cream when serving and this is irresistible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bullard, Texas, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I didn't really follow the recipe at all... but thanks for the idea! I mostly only changed it because we didn't have a lot of the ingredients in the house, but I substituted similar ingredients and it was WONDERFUL. I went back to the store and bought all of the ingredients to make this one again but the right way, I'm sure it will be just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States