Cowboy Skillet Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I made this last night...It was delicious! Son and I both had seconds and enough left for work lunch. I added shredded cheese when it was done and put chili powder in bread mix. Threw a few slices of jalapenos on top of bread mix before I baked it. It was great...this will be a regular for us. You can do so many diff things to this. But...make as is first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simsboro, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Red Oak, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
So easy and so yummy! Just fixed this for dinner tonight. Needed something quick and fast. Definitely was and everyone loved it. They just want it hotter, spicier, so next time I may add some chopped chills or jalapeños. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stigler, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Oh my god! I never ever review, but this I had to review, I made my own cornbread instead of using a cornbread mix, and added jalapeno's into the mix since I LOVE spicy, a long with making my own fajita mix, and the soft cornbread in mix with the spicy flavorful beef is AMAZING! I also omitted the beans since I wasn't in the mood for beans, but I had one bite of this and was SO GLAD I stayed home for xmas to make this instead of going out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This was very good! I only had a large can of Bush's Baked Beans, so I used the whole can, but that was about the only change I made. My husband really liked it too so that is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lnicker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I made this recipe with my favorite cornbread recipe. I like a sweeter cornbread so I will caution you NOT to use a sweet cornbread, but more of a salty cornbread. Sweet cornbread gives this a terrible taste. Otherwise, it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Really good! My Boyfriend loved it when I made it. But he added Salsa on it just to see how it would go with it and let me tell you it was amazing. So after you bake this dish, when you serve it make sure you either put the sals on top or on the side. It really adds extra flavor to this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Doubled and used extra lean ground chicken, red and green peppers and vegatarian beans drained. I also added some bbq sauce. I used buttermilk instead of regular milk in the cormbread mix. Nice casserole! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
After reading some other suggestions I changed a few things. Instead of baked beans, I used chili beans. Instead of red peppers, I used green. Instead of fajita seasoning, I used taco. I also added garlic powder, cumin, 1 cup of corn, and best of all a layer of velveeta cheese in the middle of the meat mixture. It turned out amazing!! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This was wonderful and easy. I had a bag of ancient sweets (red peppers) that I bought at Sams. I was going to make stuffed peppers. Unfortunately or fortunately, I over steamed them and looked for a different recipe. I found this one. I only had a can of Bush's Grillin Beans- the Fiesta variety. They already have green and red peppers, so I didn't put any peppers in the meat. I doubled the meat mixture- used taco seasoning instead of the fajita seasoning. I then doubled the corn bread mixture- I added 1/2 a can of corn and then two handfuls of the steamed red peppers. In addition to being delicious, the red peppers made the corn bread look on top look gorgeous. Since I don't have a cast iron skillet, I used a 9 x13 baker. It took a little while longer to cook the corn bread than the recipe indicated. This recipe was good enough that I asked my husband to buy the cast iron skillet....he's considering it! Try it and enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
You got me with this one. I used more ground beef ( I had some already browned and in freezer) and a 28 oz can of baked beans. This is a keeper. So easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States