Cowboy Skillet Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Shamona Nichols
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This is a great base recipe! I merged it with the "Hot Tamale Pie" recipe because I couldn't decide which to make. I made a 9x13 casserole using: 2 boxes of Jiffy Cornbread mix. To the mix I added: whole kernel corn (drained) 1 cup of cheddar cheese Ground turkey instead of beef and added, Chili flakes Ortega Taco Seasoning Onion & garlic 1 diced tomato 1 medium green bell pepper 1 can black beans instead of refried beans Cooked at 350 for 40 minutes And Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shamona Nichols

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Awesome! Rave comments by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Hubby gave this one a 3 star, I gave it a 4. I think this recipe has way to much red bell peppers, 1 large red pepper is just enough for the recipe. I had to cut them down smaller due to family preference. However, it has a nice flavor, not all out a fanstatic recipe but a decent one. The one thing about this recipe is that you can interchange ingredients. But had I used my 2 large bell peppers in this recipe...it would not have been good. Other then that...it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Boys loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
My husband and I thought this was fantastic! We made it as directed and it turned out great. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Used taco seasoning, added corn and a little extra beans as suggested and still found a little bland and dry. Not a family favorite. Thanks anyway. It did peak my interest for trying more skillet dinners with my cast iron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Exquisite meal!! I doubled the recipe so my tweak of choice was to add one whole package of dry fajita seasoning to the meat. I also layered the meat with shredded cheese and I must say my family absolutely loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This is fantastic! Even the leftovers were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LarzRoberts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Love it!! Added a can of corn (drained), used one green pepper as that was all I had at the time. Added cheddar cheese and chili powder to the cornbread mix. Topped with a dollop of sour cream and a little salsa. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Takers88

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dana, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Very good with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States