Cowboy Skillet Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
The printed date on the copy in my book of recipes reads 2005. I have been planning on making this for over 3 years now. I look at it quite often and finally got around to making tonight. It is really good. I added a can of corn to the mixture because I figured I had a better chance of getting the kids to eat "one thing." I also used the cornbread recipe from the red Better Homes and Garden cookbook because I like it better than the mix. I topped the cornbread mixture with cheese and it baked into the bread. I will make this again and won't wait three years this time. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Pretty good. I added a can of diced tomatoes, a scant tablespoon of brown sugar, a 28 oz. can of baked beans instead of 15 oz., the whole package of fajita seasoning, and topped it with Colby/Jack cheese before baking. I will serve the cornbread on the side next time. My son really liked it and he doesn't care for dishes I make with beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hays, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wakeeney, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Loved it!! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUBYJEWEL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This is a good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
My husband and I weren't too impressed. Thought it was too sweet tasting...we added shredded cheese to the left overs, which made it more to our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
How could such simple ingredients create such a delectable dinner??? This was FANTASTIC!!! I used 1 & 1/2 lbs. ground sirloin and increased the baked beans to the larger, 28 oz. size can. I added extra chili powder and cumin; about a big heaping teaspoon of each, and about 1/2 cup of beef broth. You absolutely MUST modify the cornbread topping by adding a 1/2 cup of frozen corn and 1 cup of grated pepperjack cheese to the mix before spreading atop the casserole. It will come out sooooo good, you'll wonder why you hadn't thought of this before! Excellent dinner and it's quick and easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
Quick and easy with plenty of room for additions! This is a great recipe everyone enjoyed, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missyoumuch

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
An absolute favorite among the guys at m house! Always requested or oohed over when mentioned. Thanks for the great recipe! The only thing I change is that I add frozen corn to the meat and beans mixture and top the cornbread with shredded cheese 5 minutes before coming out of the oven. Deliciousness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PantryDreams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
super good stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
We liked this recipe very much. As suggested, I doubled the cornbread, I added a can of partly drained tomatoes and threw in a couple of handfuls of frozen corn. I think it could have used the cheese (which I didn't have), and my son wished it were spicier. But we all enjoyed it very much. And it was super-quick to prepare after a long day at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States