Cowboy Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I read all the prior reviews. I baked the cookies today. I added 1 teaspoon of vanilla, used only 3/4 cup of brown sugar and 3/4 cup of white sugar. I replaced margarine with butter. Margarine is not healthy. I split the amount of butterscotch chips between semi-sweet chocolate chips and butterscotch chips, as I'm not that fond of butterscotch chips. The first two batches I followed directions using 1 teaspoonful of dough to bake. Following the 10-12 minute bake time, the cookies were dry and hard. I like my cookies soft and chewy. I then used 1 tablespoonfuls of cookie dough. It worked better making tablespoonfuls of cookie dough. I've used better oatmeal cookie recipes. These cookies were still dry. I would not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
These cookies are super YUMMY! I followed some other suggestions and added 3 cups of oats instead of 2, and added a tsp of vanilla extract. They were gone in a day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I just made these cookies. they are light and crispy. I'm bringing them to work as a surprise to everyone. I was concerned with the oil in the recipe but honestly they aren't greasy at all. I used healthy oil, olive oil, to counteract my concern. Mmmm gonna make ice cream sandwiches out them in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
These are very good cookies. I used Heath brickle chips and added 1/4 cup of peanut butter. I also used butter instead of margine and added a 1/2 cup of nuts. They have a great texture. I will makes these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
These were pretty tasty cookies! I did do as other reviews had suggested and added 1 tsp vanilla and upped the oats to 3 cups, also used raisins and pecans instead of the chips. My first batch didn't spread much, just puffed up. So I lightly pressed down the next batch and they were much better. They're a very nice soft cookie, not too sweet. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
5 Star Rating from the 12 year old and the 16 year old. I used butter instead of margarine per other reviewers and 2/3 cups sugars on both the white and brown sugar. Added a splash of vanilla and some cinnamon. Up'd the oats another 1/2 cup as well. I also used one cup whole wheat flour and one cup AP Flour and no one noticed. I split the batch and added raisins to 1/2 and choc chips to the other half. Gives a healthy amount of cookies and they were a big hit! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
A cookie with oil in it, humm, had to try it after reading the reviews. I don't use veg. oil anymore, so I used peanut oil. Don't use maragine either as everything baked burns with it in it, so I used butter. I don't use bleached flour anymore either, but found some selfrising flour that I didn't want to throw away and used it, just did not add the baking powder. Most recommended vanilla so added that in. Just did oatmeal cookies without the chips. Anyway... These cookies are AWESOME! Best I've tasted in forever.Wow... thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
How can people RATE this or REVIEW it when they tweak the recipe. I swear~Make it just like the recipe THEN Rate and Review it. Maybe your tweaking is what screwed up the recipe... Ok people Make the recipe and then rate. Cookies are good! I have NOW Made these twice JUST as STATED. Don't Tweak the recipe and you will be HAPPY! TY for sharing! :) my Favorite Recipe for Oatmeal cookies... If you don't like Margarine, use butter instead. GREAT Recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurses-r-angels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I made these once as per the instructions, except using a half and half raisin and choc chip mixture in place of the butterscotch; they turned out good, but a little too oily and missing some flavor I couldn't quite identify. The second time I used 1/2 cup of applesauce and 1 tblspn of oil in place of the 1/2 cup of oil, reduced the white sugar to about 1/4 cup, and used a dried berry mixture from Trader Joe's. They turned out wonderful! They're soft and delicious; they turned out a little cakey, which I enjoy but isn't for everyone. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This recipe was just what I was looking for: gooey and soft...not too bready. Although to make sure and achieve my goal, I made a few alterations to the recipe. I put only 1 1/2 cup flour. I put an extra 1/2 cup oatmeal. I put in 3/4 tsp salt instead of the 1/2 called for. I did not use butterscotch chips. Instead I loaded these with tons of raisins and dried cherries. Yummy! tastes like a Starbucks oatmeal raisin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kindra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 537) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States