Cowboy Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
just awesome! brought them to work and everyone said they were great! will def make this again. however, I did make some substitutions. I ground up whole steel-cut oats as I did not have any instant/quick cook oats. Because of this, they came out denser, chewier and healthier with more fiber. I did add vanilla and cinnamon as some other reviewers suggested. Who doesn't put vanilla in their cookies? I didn't have butterscotch chips but I did have some Ghiradelli white choc. chips! that's it. this is the kind of recipe you can fool around w/a bit and add your own flavors and it will most likely be a good cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine R.
Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
The cookies are awesome. Best oatmeal cookies I've made. However, I read the reviews before baking and made note of certain ones. So, with their advice, I made some adjustments. I decreased the oil to 1/4 cup, used 3 cups of oatmeal, 1 stick of butter instead of margarine, and of course used vanilla extract. I couldn't understand either why the recipe didn't use vanilla. So, I added 1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract and 1 tablespoon of cinnamon. Oatmeal cookies without cinnamon? With the adjustments made, will use this recipe again and again. Thank you to the reviewers for sharing their adjustments. It improves the recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Yum, Yum awesome. What a great twist on oatmeal cookies. I did add some raisins to one batch and this was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
These cookies are delish!! I did read the reviews and baked half of the cookies per the recipe. Great! The second half, I added 1/2 t of vanilla and 1/2 c additional oats. There were even better!!! So, the next time (and there will be a next time!!), I will add the vanilla and additional oats. You gotta make these cookies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I've tried many oatmeal cookies from Allrecipes. first I added one more cup of oatmeal (like most of the reviewers suggested)and the batter was still very loose , then when I baked them the bottom was very dark , also it was so sweet and thin . they tasted like granola bars not like cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monjfr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
These were GREAT!! I used some of the other reviews and added vanilla and 1/2 cup more oats and some pecans and these were awesome. A new favorite. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lavaca, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wildcat44
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Pure delicious! I modified the recipe a little (added coconut, walnuts and chocolate chips). Great texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wildcat44

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
by far the best! I use chocolate chips and add a tsp of vanilla to make the best chocolate chip cookies ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
My coworkers are going NUTS over these! And normally, I just eat cookies the day I make them and I'm not interested the next day since they aren't as amazing as fresh outta the oven. Not with these! Yum! I added some M&Ms and a few fun-size Milky Way bars I chopped up (trying to use up some junk that's sitting around). The Milky Way takes these over the top and pairs nicely with the butterscotch. I was pleasantly surprised by these - I expected flatter, possibly greasy cookies, but they're the perfect balance of chewy with a slight crunch when you bite into it. I'm enjoying one now as I write this! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 552) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States