Cowboy Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Simply Amazing the kids and husband gobbled them up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Makes a very good cookie! Great as described, You can pretty much add anything you like to them. For example, Ive added cinnamon and apples before or peaches. My favorite is as follows: I use butter instead of margarine, use one cup of wheat and one of white flour, use cup of brown sugar and one cup of Splenda Sugar-Bllend for baking, I use white chocolate chips instead of butterscotch, increase oats to 3 cups instead of 2, add 3 tablespoons benefiber powder (to increase fiber), 3 tablespoons of flaxseed meal, add 1/2 cup of walnuts, and add 1/3-1/2 cup of dried cranberries. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLYKNOWSBEST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Awesome cookies they came out perfect I used chocolate chips instead of the other stuff because I didnt have them on hand here at the detention but all in all everyone loved them and they were really sweet!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prettycoolme209

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I took these on vacation. Brother-in-law finished off the entire batch within days. I managed to grab a few, they are great, and I'll definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pepper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Great recipe! I also substituted vanilla instead of chips and butter instead of margrine. Crispy yet soft in the center. Thank you, I would say just like my grams cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Very good. Made today for first time. I added a small package of vanilla pudding, just something I've always done with cookies. They were amazing and all the kids (5), and my husband, loved them. I doubled the batch. I didn't run into trouble till towards the end when the dough was at room temp. and the cookies just spread on the hot pan. Next time i will keep the dough in the fridge so its firm. It filled my cookie jar, and I've frozen probably 5 dozen or so. I will keep this and keep making them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
just awesome! brought them to work and everyone said they were great! will def make this again. however, I did make some substitutions. I ground up whole steel-cut oats as I did not have any instant/quick cook oats. Because of this, they came out denser, chewier and healthier with more fiber. I did add vanilla and cinnamon as some other reviewers suggested. Who doesn't put vanilla in their cookies? I didn't have butterscotch chips but I did have some Ghiradelli white choc. chips! that's it. this is the kind of recipe you can fool around w/a bit and add your own flavors and it will most likely be a good cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine R.
Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
The cookies are awesome. Best oatmeal cookies I've made. However, I read the reviews before baking and made note of certain ones. So, with their advice, I made some adjustments. I decreased the oil to 1/4 cup, used 3 cups of oatmeal, 1 stick of butter instead of margarine, and of course used vanilla extract. I couldn't understand either why the recipe didn't use vanilla. So, I added 1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract and 1 tablespoon of cinnamon. Oatmeal cookies without cinnamon? With the adjustments made, will use this recipe again and again. Thank you to the reviewers for sharing their adjustments. It improves the recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Yum, Yum awesome. What a great twist on oatmeal cookies. I did add some raisins to one batch and this was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
These cookies are delish!! I did read the reviews and baked half of the cookies per the recipe. Great! The second half, I added 1/2 t of vanilla and 1/2 c additional oats. There were even better!!! So, the next time (and there will be a next time!!), I will add the vanilla and additional oats. You gotta make these cookies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 538) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States