Cowboy Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by thedailygourmet
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Five ONLY w/ the following changes, remove the oil & margarine, replace w/ 1 cup of butter. increase the flour to 3 cups, decrease the oats to 1 cup, and increase the baking powder to 1 tsp. These changes make it a 5 Star rating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thedailygourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
My husband said these are the best cookies he's ever tasted! I took some suggestions that were given and added 1 tsp vanilla and 3 cups of oatmeal instead of 2. Turned out great! Oh, I also did half peanut butter chips and half chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Easy to bake but they get way too hard. Fed them to some teens at church youth group and they weren't very popular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bucyrus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Every time i've made this cookie its received rave reviews ... its the perfect balance in texture - crisp on the outside with a semi chewy middle and soft center. You can make the cookie softer or more crisp by varying the cook time which is another thing I like about this recipe. I use butter instead of margerine, add 1/2 tsp vanilla, double the amount of salt (kosher), and swap out butterscotch for chocolate chips. I've tried many many cookie recipes and this has become my definite staple, go to recipe. It's super easy and when I bring these to potlucks or meetings people really enjoy them. These cookies are addictive and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
These are good, but a bit too sweet for my taste buds. To be honest, I think the butterscotch chips contributed to this. I halved the recipe and subbed coconut oil for the oil & margarine, but otherwise made it as written. Next time, I'll use about a third less sugar if I use the butterscotch or any other sweet addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Fultondale, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I had to change things a little because I had to substitute...but they were great. I used 1 cup of butter flavor crisco instead of the 1/2 veg oil and 1/2 margarine. I also added 1 tsp cinnamon. And omitted the butterscotch chips because I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I love this recipe! It's so versital. I added an extra cup of oatmeal like other's suggested. I also used 1/4 cup of creamy peanut butter and 1/4 cup of oil instead of just oil. I added 2 tsp of vanilla and about 3/4 cup of chocolate chips in addition to the butterscotch. I also used butter instead of margerine since I never have it on hand. This would be great as a oatmeal raisin cookie w/ cinnamon, a chocolate chip oatmeal cookie....really the sky is the limit. I do lightly "slam" the cookie sheet on the counter to get all the air out of the cookie. The result is a slightly crispy exterior and super chewy on the inside. This is a fantastic recipe that will be used over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by periwinkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Post Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Your search is over! If you are looking for a prize winning cookie you have found it here. I have baked many cookies and this by far is the best oatmeal cookie ever! I make these without the butterscotch chips and they are amazing! Its a sure hit with any crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Made these for my grand daughter's band competition. They were yummy. The only change I made is adding vanilla. I did keep the dough in refrigerator while others were baking, which I do with most of my cookie dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Holy mackerel! These are fantastic! I love oatmeal cookies and was looking for a change from the regular variety. Per other reviewers I cut the sugar (2/3 c white and 3/4 c brown), added a splash of vanilla and 3/4 c or so of chopped pecans. Also, I don't have anything but real butter in my house so I used that instead of margarine. I am blown away! Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 533) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States