Cowboy Mexican Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Great recipe! DO NOT substitute regular block cheddar for the processed cheese. It comes out a bit too stiff for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jenks, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I'm eating this right now, it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I could not really taste the tamales. I like to use sausage instead, it makes a much nicer cheese dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fox, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pauls Valley, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This was a staple at all the office parties I went to before retiring. Always the crock pot was licked clean. Sounds simple, tastes complex. Thank you for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I have never come across a recipe for dip that is even remotely similar to this one. It was such a huge hit in our house that I let my sister try it when she came to visit yesterday and she went home with the recipe. This has just become my go to dip knocking rotel dip off its pedestal. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KristyHH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wathena, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
LOVED IT.. Even my kids loved it. I even took some of the dip and put in a tortilla - wrapped it and eat it - awesome!!! We used regular and baked scoops..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rodierl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This was amazing! My family loved it. I used it as a topping on my homemade Shredded Beef Chimichangas! It was a hit. I followed the recipe for the exception of a few spices and made it on the stove top. It will be a staple in my cookbook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sock Monkey Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Wow, what a surprise but I'll be making this again and again! I used a little less than 1 lb of 2% velveeta, 98% fat free turkey chili with no beans, and only 1 can of the tamales, (they have 6 in each can). I also added about 6 ounces of cream cheese too and I loved it. Used the mild form of the Rotel and it was perfect for us! Thanks for this fun recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Great Dip! I had a hard time finding the beef tamales, used frozen ones and cooked them in the microwave. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
A very nice change from just the classic rotel dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States