Cowboy Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
This recipe was a little dry so I recommend either adding a lil milk or putting butter on them once it's served. Also when I cooked the potatoes I ended up having to quarter them to get them to cook because after 20 minutes the potatoes weren't hard enough to mash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This dish is AWESOME! I didn't have exact ingredients on hand, so I changed/added a few. First of all, I only used 1cup of corn and added 1cup of sweet peas instead to make it look prettier. My family loves cheese, so I used 1.5cups of shredded Mexican cheese instead of 1/2 cup cheddar. Also, I added 6 strips of crumbled bacon - HUGE HIT!!! I served it with sour cream and extra cheese, almost like loaded potatoes. Everyone cleaned their plates, and I was asked to make again soon! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I use a recipe very similar to this...but add sausage (a pineapple or apple sausage is excellent) to make it a full meal that the kids and "meat & potatoes" hubby fully approve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I would say this is well named. It kind of looks like something a cowboy would cook over a campfire. Not so pretty, but tastes quite good! Went well with BBQ pork steaks. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I omitted the cheese and substituted 2 12oz packages of frozen country style mixed veggies. Served with pork chops and home made mushroom gravey. Very satisfying dish. Will definitely use on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Love this (always have mixed my corn with mashed spuds anyhow when they're served separately). I used frozen mixed veggies, boiled to heat, then added them in AFTER I mashed the spuds so not to have them mashed up. I used small can of mild green chiles. Also agree with more garlic, & a little sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I loved the idea of these potatoes but were quite dry. I added milk to save them. Not sure what could have happened there because I followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeAnnetteJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Photo by 5Foot3
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I love the fact that this doesn't call for any cream or milk like so many mashed potato recipes do. This is a nice change from the regular mashed and I will be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Foot3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Love these tasty and colorful mashed potatoes! Perfect with our meatloaf. I followed the recipe pretty closely, with the exception of using a 28oz bag of mini yukon golds, and folded some peas in at the end for even more color and veg. A delicious, definite do-over. Thanks for sharing, Steve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I didn't really care for these. I didn't have the jalepeno, but I used everything else. Mine looked more like yellow mashed potatoes with carrots as the recipe does not contain the peas pictured. They reminded me in taste of a garlic mashed potato, a little, but I thought the texture was odd with the carrots and corn. I also found them a little greasy, from the butter and cheese. This is a little more expensive to, to make, buying the red potatoes, yellow potatoes, and the rest of the ingredients especially since they really don't have a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 438) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States