Cowboy Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This dish is AWESOME! I didn't have exact ingredients on hand, so I changed/added a few. First of all, I only used 1cup of corn and added 1cup of sweet peas instead to make it look prettier. My family loves cheese, so I used 1.5cups of shredded Mexican cheese instead of 1/2 cup cheddar. Also, I added 6 strips of crumbled bacon - HUGE HIT!!! I served it with sour cream and extra cheese, almost like loaded potatoes. Everyone cleaned their plates, and I was asked to make again soon! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I use a recipe very similar to this...but add sausage (a pineapple or apple sausage is excellent) to make it a full meal that the kids and "meat & potatoes" hubby fully approve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I would say this is well named. It kind of looks like something a cowboy would cook over a campfire. Not so pretty, but tastes quite good! Went well with BBQ pork steaks. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I omitted the cheese and substituted 2 12oz packages of frozen country style mixed veggies. Served with pork chops and home made mushroom gravey. Very satisfying dish. Will definitely use on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Love this (always have mixed my corn with mashed spuds anyhow when they're served separately). I used frozen mixed veggies, boiled to heat, then added them in AFTER I mashed the spuds so not to have them mashed up. I used small can of mild green chiles. Also agree with more garlic, & a little sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I loved the idea of these potatoes but were quite dry. I added milk to save them. Not sure what could have happened there because I followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeAnnetteJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Photo by 5Foot3
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I love the fact that this doesn't call for any cream or milk like so many mashed potato recipes do. This is a nice change from the regular mashed and I will be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Foot3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Love these tasty and colorful mashed potatoes! Perfect with our meatloaf. I followed the recipe pretty closely, with the exception of using a 28oz bag of mini yukon golds, and folded some peas in at the end for even more color and veg. A delicious, definite do-over. Thanks for sharing, Steve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I didn't really care for these. I didn't have the jalepeno, but I used everything else. Mine looked more like yellow mashed potatoes with carrots as the recipe does not contain the peas pictured. They reminded me in taste of a garlic mashed potato, a little, but I thought the texture was odd with the carrots and corn. I also found them a little greasy, from the butter and cheese. This is a little more expensive to, to make, buying the red potatoes, yellow potatoes, and the rest of the ingredients especially since they really don't have a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Folkeat their lwed the recipe exactly, and my family loved this! I didn't peel the potatoes, and used the jalapeno despite my apprehension about it being too 'hot'. I'm glad I didn't alter the recipe. It had great flavor with the skins, garlic, butter, and veggies. It's a great way to get the kids to eat their veggies. A keeper! Thanks, Steve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States