Cowboy Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by shanagan
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
These are really good, but in the future, I'd heat the corn before adding to the potatoes - I used canned corn, and it really cooled the potatoes down too quickly. Oddly, I thought that the garlic and jalapeno flavors disappeared (told you, odd) so I'd up them in the future, but 3 out of 5 family members really liked them as is. (The fourth hates corn, which I always forget, so she was destined to hate these no matter what. In the future I'll also save a corn-free serving for her!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanagan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This sounded so weird I had to try it. Reminded me of that horror of a fast food KFC was (is?) selling. This however was DELISH. I gave it 4 stars because I felt it needed a little something extra (approximately 1/3 C of sour cream). Got raves from my DH, MIL, and 2 year old son. Served w/rotisserie chicken and Rory's excellent cornbread (from this site). Great winter time meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I am from Texas and used to jalepenos in pico, Tex Mex, etc. so added the additional jalepeno as suggested by several people. However it was a bit too spicy. Great recipe overall for my family, in-laws, kids, but would suggest starting with the one jalepeno called for in the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
At the advice of others, I added more jalapenos (5) and more cloves. I boiled everything in half water/half chicken broth. Followed everything else exactly as stated.I blended it easily with my kitchenaid stand mixer and added a bunch of garlic salt and pepper to season. Added corn at the very end to add texture. Overall, I still found this recipe a little bland and prefer regular mashed potatoes with the usual butter, milk, and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I have made this before with four jalepenos instead of just one. It has a much better, not too spicy robust flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Giancarla
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I've made several this dish for several parties and everyone always loves it. I usually add a little more garlic and jalapeno, but it's good even without the extras.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GUZIEWICZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I cut the carrots in thirds so they would cook in about the same time as the cubed potatoes and they were done along with the potatoes. I also minced the garlic so the taste would distribute more evenly. Ended up adding about twice the amount of cheese. This was OK but probably will not make again but if I do, I will leave out the carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Everyone loves these potatoes. A great go to side dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenys "B"

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Zephyrhills, Florida, USA
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I omitted the pepper as I was serving this with Herbed Pork Chops in Mushroom Sauce, I didn't think it would go well together. I used all red potatoes as that was what was on sale today and added more cheese, and a 1/4 c. hot milk to loosen the mash up a little. (It was quite thick.) I liked these, my family was indifferent. I don't think they liked corn in their potatoes. I'd like to try this again with Mexi Corn and the jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Wonderful no-fuss recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 441) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States