Cowboy Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This is a keeper. A little extra cheese and butter...yum. It would be a nice compliment to a bit of fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I wish I could give a 4 1/2 star because 4 seems too low and 5 is a little too generous. Having said that, we really enjoyed these, but I will probably try some adjustments next time. They were good (4 star), but not blow-me-away fabulous (5 star). We doubled the recipe (big family) and since we doubled it, only had one fresh jalapeno, so I used some extras from a jar. Would probably add extra next time since we really like spicier things. I did get my non-mashed-potato-eater to eat ALL of the small serving I gave her...and enjoy them, which is why I would give them more than the 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonja Grothe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
It was a great recipe, very tasty. But I highly recommend adding sour cream to make it creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
The best mashed potatoes I have ever had! I will definitely make this as much as possible :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babeltek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Good, on par with basic mashed potatoes with cheese, sour cream, etc. I doubled the batch and served them to guests. This is also a good way to incorporate more veggies into your kids' diet. I used canned carrots for simplicity, and they worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renae Sattazahn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Honestly, I would have only rated them a 3--solid, but not impressive. However, hubby and the kids loved them. I think i will leave out the corn next time, not really fan,and then we might have something. I agree with others, I might double the jalapeno, double the garlic, and maybe add some chopped green onion at the end. I did like that the recipe didn't call for a ton of cream or more butter. I felt they still had a good texture without it. Good playing-with recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southport, Florida, USA
Living In: Chelsea, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Fantastic side dish! It feeds a ton of people, so I only make it when we have company. Everyone loves it! I omit the peppers, but follow the rest of the recipe as-is. My daughter loves to throw in bacon-bits. I think the leftovers taste even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
These were decent. My fiance and I won't be craving these anytime soon (but I won't rule out the possibility of ever making them again). If you have kiddos, this recipe ROCKS!!! Steve, you are a genius when it comes to finding a creative way to "sneak" veggies into something EVERYONE likes - mashed taters!!! The presentation is beautiful too (my red potato skins turned a purplish color, which, with the orange carrots, green jalapeno and yellow sweet corn, was absolutely BEAUTIFUL!!!). This recipe was pretty much what I expected, except for a couple of "minor" nuiances. I thought the jalapeno would add some heat, but it didn't. I even added most of the seeds (Steve's directions didn't specify whether to or not...). I also thought that boiling my veggies for 20 minutes would be long enough to cook them thru, but it wasn't (my carrots were still a tad undercooked). I had to ask my fiance to help me mash everything since I was having no luck with the carrots! Oh, and you defiintely do not need milk, sour cream, cream cheese, etc. - just add butter and a good dose of s&p. These are plenty creamy (and seasoned) without! Served alongside Incredibly Cheesy Meatloaf (Brooke), the two paired nicely together. Thanks for sharing, Steve :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
This was not very enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Easy and tasty. The corn and carrots add a nice subtle sweetness to the potatoes, so that it is not necessary to add much if any salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 430) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States