Cowboy Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
At the advice of others, I added more jalapenos (5) and more cloves. I boiled everything in half water/half chicken broth. Followed everything else exactly as stated.I blended it easily with my kitchenaid stand mixer and added a bunch of garlic salt and pepper to season. Added corn at the very end to add texture. Overall, I still found this recipe a little bland and prefer regular mashed potatoes with the usual butter, milk, and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I have made this before with four jalepenos instead of just one. It has a much better, not too spicy robust flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Giancarla
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I've made several this dish for several parties and everyone always loves it. I usually add a little more garlic and jalapeno, but it's good even without the extras.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GUZIEWICZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I cut the carrots in thirds so they would cook in about the same time as the cubed potatoes and they were done along with the potatoes. I also minced the garlic so the taste would distribute more evenly. Ended up adding about twice the amount of cheese. This was OK but probably will not make again but if I do, I will leave out the carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Everyone loves these potatoes. A great go to side dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenys "B"

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Zephyrhills, Florida, USA
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I omitted the pepper as I was serving this with Herbed Pork Chops in Mushroom Sauce, I didn't think it would go well together. I used all red potatoes as that was what was on sale today and added more cheese, and a 1/4 c. hot milk to loosen the mash up a little. (It was quite thick.) I liked these, my family was indifferent. I don't think they liked corn in their potatoes. I'd like to try this again with Mexi Corn and the jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Wonderful no-fuss recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
The best mashed potatoes. Have to physically pull the husband away from them. Of course I added way more cheese than the recipe calls for and have used several different kids of potatoes. Always comes out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This is a keeper. A little extra cheese and butter...yum. It would be a nice compliment to a bit of fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I wish I could give a 4 1/2 star because 4 seems too low and 5 is a little too generous. Having said that, we really enjoyed these, but I will probably try some adjustments next time. They were good (4 star), but not blow-me-away fabulous (5 star). We doubled the recipe (big family) and since we doubled it, only had one fresh jalapeno, so I used some extras from a jar. Would probably add extra next time since we really like spicier things. I did get my non-mashed-potato-eater to eat ALL of the small serving I gave her...and enjoy them, which is why I would give them more than the 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonja Grothe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 428) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States