Cowboy Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Every time I make this recipe, there is never a time when someone doesn't want the recipe or says how wonderful it is. Omit the shallots and just cut up finley a green onion. 1/2 sour cream is a good idea. Also, this is not a "salad" its more like twice baked potatoes. Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
YUMMY! Definitely a great way to get a couple of servings of veggies in one! We like a little heat and will probably add some more jalapenos next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Easy good fun and full of color
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maccordeiro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Lorenzo, California, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I love that I can sneak in as many vegetables as I have into this recipe - and it still tastes wonderful! A healthy, hearty spin on mashed potatoes. This is a great way to use up half packages of veggies from other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
We really liked these. It was chunky & full of lots of different flavors and colors. Will definitely make again. I used a few slices of jarred jalapenos and it was enough for us. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
WOW! Very good! I only had yukon golds and I used a can of the big green guy's chipotle white shoe peg corn instead of the frozen. I did add a "dollop" of sour cream to as I do with any mashed potatoes. Steve, this is a great recipe. Thanks for sharing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phnz2lft

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Wow, these are super crazy fun! They pop in your mouth and like my husband said, they are spicy! I made several modifications due to what I had on hand. Used 4-5 small yellow potatoes, cubed, 10 sliced japalenos from a jar, 2 tsp. minced garlic, and 5 oz. baby carrots. Put in 2.5 TB of butter, and about 1/2 cup shredded cheese. Next time (and there will be a next time!) I think I might try adding cream corn to give it that creamy mash potato texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
The whole family (including the dog!) loved this recipe! The instructions seem strange for mashed potatoes, but it really does come out fantastic just exactly as written. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!! (cooking time for mine was closer to 40 min... but that was the only difference from the recipe)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shanagan
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
These are really good, but in the future, I'd heat the corn before adding to the potatoes - I used canned corn, and it really cooled the potatoes down too quickly. Oddly, I thought that the garlic and jalapeno flavors disappeared (told you, odd) so I'd up them in the future, but 3 out of 5 family members really liked them as is. (The fourth hates corn, which I always forget, so she was destined to hate these no matter what. In the future I'll also save a corn-free serving for her!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanagan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This sounded so weird I had to try it. Reminded me of that horror of a fast food KFC was (is?) selling. This however was DELISH. I gave it 4 stars because I felt it needed a little something extra (approximately 1/3 C of sour cream). Got raves from my DH, MIL, and 2 year old son. Served w/rotisserie chicken and Rory's excellent cornbread (from this site). Great winter time meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 439) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States