Cowboy Jack's Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Well, not ALWAYS delicious, as described in the recipe. This, for me, rather than "rich and delicious," was instead "sweet and greasy." Too much butter and sugar, not enough baking powder, and I believe it could have used some salt too. So disappointed since this was to go with our supper, I sent hubby off to the store for a baguette...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This is hands down the best beer bread recipe! Can't stop eating the darn stuff. I always tweek recipes and I'm sure this is great as written but I did make a few changes for my own taste. I added 2 tablespoons of honey, 1/4 teaspoon salt,Penzeys spices: oregano,basil and pizza seasoning all to taste. Don't forget to use REAL butter! Wonderful! Thank you for a great recipe...it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
As is, it's okay. You'll need to do what I did and add a little salt to offset the sweet of the brown sugar and bump up the baking powder, so it'll rise. I added a tsp. of garlic powder and a tsp. of italian seasoning, so it'll compliment tonight's Pizza Casserole a little better. EDITED: If I make this again, I'll cut the sugar and butter in half. Too much of both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
The first time I made this it was just ok, I tried it again with less butter, more baking powder, and a dash of salt. I can not stop making it, Dark beer has the best flavor. this recipe will be used alot in my home. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sanro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Liberty, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This was a good beer bread, however I do feel that the listed butter is WAY too much. I used 2T and found that to be sufficient - a 1/2 cup would have left the bread swimming in butter. Also added a can of green chiles just because beer bread can sometimes be rather bland....great toasted with some butter. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
It was ok, a bit too sweet for me, and a bit too dense. Mine was swimming in butter but when I pulled it from the oven I "drained it". Wil try it again as it is a good base but needs some tweaking in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Page

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keene, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This is the only beer bread recipe I make anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sanford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Stewart, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
We have tried several recipes for beer bread this year. My husband likes to try different types of beers at micro-breweries across the country. This was excellent. We used a specialty beer ver dark from germany. Not sure if the beer would make a difference in taste but we sure enjoyed it! I have told family and friends and they enjoy just as much. Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Recipe is great! I only used 1/4 c. butter instead of 1/2 c. I also found that freezing the bread allows you to cut it into thinner slices without it crumbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mowe3415

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baker City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I followed the directions to the letter and this was VERY disappointing. It was very greasy and just did not taste good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States