Cowboy Jack's Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This was a good beer bread, however I do feel that the listed butter is WAY too much. I used 2T and found that to be sufficient - a 1/2 cup would have left the bread swimming in butter. Also added a can of green chiles just because beer bread can sometimes be rather bland....great toasted with some butter. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I thought this was really good. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 23DAISYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
This recipe for beer bread was good but I thought the 2/3 cup of brown sugar made the finished bread too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Recipe is great! I only used 1/4 c. butter instead of 1/2 c. I also found that freezing the bread allows you to cut it into thinner slices without it crumbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mowe3415

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baker City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elisa B.
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
We loved it. I used slightly less brown sugar and added a little salt. Yummmmy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Really good. I used Guinness draught.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This is hands down the best beer bread recipe! Can't stop eating the darn stuff. I always tweek recipes and I'm sure this is great as written but I did make a few changes for my own taste. I added 2 tablespoons of honey, 1/4 teaspoon salt,Penzeys spices: oregano,basil and pizza seasoning all to taste. Don't forget to use REAL butter! Wonderful! Thank you for a great recipe...it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
We have tried several recipes for beer bread this year. My husband likes to try different types of beers at micro-breweries across the country. This was excellent. We used a specialty beer ver dark from germany. Not sure if the beer would make a difference in taste but we sure enjoyed it! I have told family and friends and they enjoy just as much. Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Well, not ALWAYS delicious, as described in the recipe. This, for me, rather than "rich and delicious," was instead "sweet and greasy." Too much butter and sugar, not enough baking powder, and I believe it could have used some salt too. So disappointed since this was to go with our supper, I sent hubby off to the store for a baguette...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I used a pumpkin spice ale and added a small handful of chopped walnuts to the dough. I wasn't really happy with it though. The dough was very dry and thick (definitely not "pourable") and the bread came out super dense and hard. The flavor was ok though I would have liked it to be less sweet. I'll find a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMEE16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Indiana, USA
Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States