Cowboy Jack's Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
This was quite an easy recipe, but I definitely agree with a couple of the other reviews - it's too sweet, and I normally like things sweet! But this is too sweet for beer bread. I'd bring the brown sugar down to a half cup. I'd also increase the baking powder to 3/4 tsp - my bread did not turn out as fluffy as I'd like. Finally, I would decrease the butter to between 2 Tbs and 1/4 cup. I would try this recipe again with the above modifications. If you're looking for a mild, easy sweet beer bread recipe, then this is a good place to start, and make your own modifications from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I see many people loved this - but not me. I should have known with that much sugar it would be too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Very easy! Very tasty! We all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKGEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Not great for my first attempt at beer bread. I added salt and cut down a bit on the brown sugar but it was still a bit too sweet for my taste. Also, did not rise as much as I would have liked... I might try more baking powder next time around. And I might try half white flour half whole wheat flour next time around. Had to cut the butter a bit also, was way too much. This recipe was just ok but I think I'll look for a better one next time I have a hankering for some home baked beer bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This is so yummy! I did as suggested and used 2 Tbsp of butter and it came out perfectly! The second time I made it with Dr. Pepper and it was excellent! I surprised myself because it was so amazingly good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Not too impressed with the origional recipe. Way to sweet, didn't hardly rise. It is a good base recipe to tweak to what you want though. I put in 1/2 cup of brown suger instead of 2/3, added 1 tsp salt, doubled the aaking powder to get a little more rise, and used a little less than 1/4 cup melted butter and a basting brush. I recommend changing this recipe to make it your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I made this for Christmas dinner (yes, we're tired of rolls) and everyone loved it! I followed the recipe to the letter; the only thing I did which is not mentioned here is I let it rise a bit before baking; I poured dough into the bread pan & let it sit on to of the stove/oven for a while where it was warm. Perhaps this is why mine didn't seem more dense than I expected it to be; as others have described here. So, big thumbs up from me as this was my first attempt at home-made beer bread; this recipe was easily better than any restaurant beer bread I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I followed the directions to the letter and this was VERY disappointing. It was very greasy and just did not taste good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This was a great recipe! Only thing I would recommend is a little less melted butter, but other than that it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lswvu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
As is, it's okay. You'll need to do what I did and add a little salt to offset the sweet of the brown sugar and bump up the baking powder, so it'll rise. I added a tsp. of garlic powder and a tsp. of italian seasoning, so it'll compliment tonight's Pizza Casserole a little better. EDITED: If I make this again, I'll cut the sugar and butter in half. Too much of both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States