Cowboy Jack's Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Everyone who had the bread loved it! Here is what I did: used 1/2 cup dark brown sugar, used whole wheat flour, and I was careful not to over mix. Instead of pouring the butter over at the end, I melted 3 tablespoons of butter in a stoneware bread pan in the oven while it was preheating. I used 1 tsp of baking powder and the bread rose nicely. If your bread doesn't rise, check the expiration on the can of baking powder. I used Yuengling Traditional Lager. We all loved this beer bread! So much better than the box mixes you get and much cheaper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
pretty good for beer bread, sure beats paying 8 bucks for a box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathyskitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I've had beer breads that were addictive and this was not one of them. I think it had way too much butter and was missing more salt. I would try another recipe for beer bread next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I followed the recipe to the tee and it did not rise at all. It was a big dissapointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This was an absolute flop, was tough chewy did not cook in the time it reccommended. I will never make again. I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda K
Home Town: Spring Hill, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lebo, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
very good but i made the mistake of baking it in a silicone bread pan & it didn't make a loaf, it was too heavy so it was flat & over baked. i will definitely make this again but in a metal bread pan. thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I've made this recipe twice. Both times the bread has been great. I'm making the recipe again today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
The first time I made this it was just ok, I tried it again with less butter, more baking powder, and a dash of salt. I can not stop making it, Dark beer has the best flavor. this recipe will be used alot in my home. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sanro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Liberty, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
The bread tastes good, however, because of the butter the texture around the outside is the same as if it is not cooked properly, the inside is cooked but it is really really moist around the outside. Next time I will add butter to the mixture as opposed to the outside to see if it will turn out a bit better. I added some shredded cheddar cheese and a jalapeno to the mixture. It gave it some good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This was pretty good, but I like really sweet things. It was best when eaten warm. The only thing that went wrong with this was my choice of beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States