Cowboy Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This was surprisingly good! I made it with the cornbread as recommended, and I also put in 4 strips of finely chopped bacon. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carpenter115

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
as is i agree with others a bit bland, I added chili powder tons of garlic powder, parsley a pinch of summer savory,some oregano paprika then with 1 lb of burger browned in seasonings I added a can of rinsed, drained black beans a can of texas style ranch beans, and a can of stewed tomatoes and a can of mexicorn. I cooked it for 30 mins or so and let it set awhile while I made brown rice. I loved it! excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Very quick, easy, and filling. I served this over brown rice. My whole family loves this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doncon

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
My family loves this on a night when we dont have much time. It is super easy to make. I did add a packet of taco seasoning and we pile it on some mashed potatoes. It is very good even my picky eater eats it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I was given this same recipe (minus the oil, which is completely unnecessary) several years ago during a snowboarding trip. Now, anytime I'm in need for a SUPER quick, super easy, super CHEAP meal (especially during vacation!), I throw this on the stove (or even the campfire)! It's yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
Really didn't like it. Would rather make chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama2006

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I took my cues from other reviews and added garlic & cumin while browning the beef. I also decided to add cut up tenderized strip steak instead of ground beef, and a bit of tomato sauce. Like others have said, a good base but alone it leaves something to be desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Polexia

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
This wasn't bad by any means-- it was very filling and easy to assemble. However, I found it a bit tasteless. I even added some taco mix to the recipe and it still was pretty bland. I'll probably try this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ebertfan04
Home Town: Henderson, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
It was okay, I wouldn't make it again unless my boyfriend wants it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
VERY EASY! VERY CHEAP! ACTUALLY GOOD! I have to say, I had my doubts. My dad loves these beans, so I made it for him, but everyone liked it. We served it over sticky rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teachertmb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States