Cowboy Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2002
Okay, here's what I did to combat the "flat" problem: used 3/4Cup of both sugars instead of a full cup, used 1 egg plus one yolk, increased vanilla to 2 teaspoons (just cause I like them flavorful) increased temp to 375 for 8-9 mins. and wha lah! PERFECTION! DELICIOUS cookies will make again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I have been making this cookie recipe for 35 years with the only difference being we use a whole bag 12oz. of semisweet chocolate chips. My mom made them for 20 years before me. They are the best chocolate chip cookies you will find. Why people change the recipe is beyond me! They are not even the same cookie if you change them...so why? Anyway, they are delicious and I don't know one person who does not love them in all my years of baking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Novato, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
Loved the cookies, and so did the rest of the family. Followed suggestions (sort by "most helpful") and baked at 375 F for 8-9 minutes, used 2 tsp. vanilla, decreased sugar to 3/4 c. EACH, used 1.5 sticks of Nucoa margarine (same thing as 3/4 c.) Shaped fairly large, oversized, round balls of dough, and used Ghiradelli and Tropical Souce brand chocolate chips. In place of the two eggs, I used a total of 1/4 c. water. (1 egg = 2 Tbs. water) If mixture is still a bit dry, add just enough water for it to come together. This way, even those with dairy/egg allergies can have some! Baked on parchment paper, and also added small dashes of ginger and cinnamon to half the batch. Have already made two batches since discovering them a month ago. My mum makes the exact same recipe--but with eggs, and people don't know the difference. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
Super Yummy! I made a few adjustments. I used 3/4c. each of the sugars, 2tsp. vanilla, added in 1c. of raisins, 1tsp. cinnamon, and 1/2c. chopped pecans. I baked them at 375 for 9 minutes on an air-bake cookie sheet. The cookies are soft and chewy not flat at all. I ended up with 4 dozen not 5 dozen. My two boys ages 2yrs. and 4yrs. love to help make and eat these cookies! I think I figured the WW points to be 3pts. per cookie. I'm definately keeping this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
Wonderful cookies. Best cookies I have ever made. They are so soft and chewy. I used 3/4c of both sugars and 3/4c butter, and since I am a chocolate addict, I used 2c of chocolate chips. I don't have a nice cookie sheet. I think it is older than me, and these treats turned out perfect. I used a little more dough than a teaspoon full and I baked them for 10 minutes. Thank you for this great recipe. I will for sure make this treat in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
Fantastic! I used only 1.5 sticks of butter and 3/4 c sugar and it worked out great! Chewy in the middle and crisp on the edges! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LPMUSTANG
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
this could be my favourite cookie recipe yet! where has it been all my life? reading about the flat issue, instead of making "ball" shapes, i made taller columns of dough and this worked perfectly. the key is in the baking time as well. wait till the edges go golden and although they might look undercooked in the middle, once they cool they arent. they are perfectly soft, chewy and deliciously amazing! I used 1 package milk chocolate chips and 1 package of butterscotch chips. next time i will try a chocolate/raisin combo -my favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
These cookies are very good but I did make a few changes to the basic recipe. I cut the sugars down to 3/4 cup of each (brown and white). I also added 1 more cup of chocolate chips to make a total of 2 cups. I needed to bake them for 12 minutes to get them golden brown. I always use a timer when baking cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
These cookies were fabulous. I always have difficulty with flat cookies so I used 1 egg and 1 yolk. I also increased flour to 2 and a half cups and decreased the oats to 1 and a half cups. Before baking I refrigerated for an hour and they turned out just the right combination of soft and chewy. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leakey, Texas, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
My husband loves these cookies. I made a few changes. I chop the oatmeal in the blender before mixing it in. My hubby likes a smooth cookie. Also , I don't add nuts. My daughter has an allergy. And finally , I freeze the dough before cooking. This makes the cookies ooey gooey in the middle and crisp on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clayton, Alabama, USA
Living In: Bolling Afb, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 334) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States