Cowboy Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I don't know where I went wrong but these turned our horribly for me! The only change I made to the recipe was that I altered the number of servings from 60 to 36 (using the "Change Servings" tool on allrecipes), otherwise I followed everything to a tee. For whatever reason these were WAY too dry. I formed medium sized balls and when the timer was done they were still in the same shape, they hadn't flattened at all. I've read and re-read the recipe over again to be sure I didn't miss anything and it appears that I didn't. Not sure I'll try these again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
best. cookies. ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4thegospel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Although I LOVE chocolate, this recipe is actually better without it. Ran out of chips one day and substituted 1 cup of rough-chopped pecans. Fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Excellent and easy to make. I made two batches and on the second batch I used white chocolate chunks. Both batches were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherillynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bad Axe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
These were really good. They were soft and chewy, if you do not overbake them like I did on the first sheet. I did double up the chocolate chips and cut down a little on both of the sugars. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Yummy!!! I did 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening instead of all butter (seems to help with flattening??), and I 'hid' 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour in the 2 cups of flour. Otherwise, made according to recipe. Excellent flavor and texture!! Will make again... and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I made this recipe and my husband loved them. I did cut the sugars to 3/4 c each. I have found that in most cookies that tend to spread if the only add half the butter and the rest shortening the cookies stay nice and plump but you don't lose anything on taste! The cookies are going to be gone by the end of the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This was my favorite recipe when growing up and still is. My mom's recipe called for Crisco instead of butter, a whole package of chocolate chips and only 1/2 tsp. of baking powder. I also add 1 cup of chopped nuts. Make a double batch as they will go fast - but unless you have an industrial size mixer you'll need to make two separate batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
These cookies are so good! They came out great! I just did what the most helpful positive review said to do. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phoebe
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Want to know the trick to these fantastic cookies?? FOLLOW THE RECIPE!! Drives me UP THE FLIPPIN WALL when people rate/review and change the whole thing! UGH.. These cookies were fantastic! I am using them for the teachers as an end of the year gift with the 'I'm a smart cookie' quote :) Seriously, follow this recipe, exactly and it's fine. It's supposed to be a flat, chewy, delicious cookie! If you want a cakey blob, then this is not the cookie for you. These are a keeper, thanks so much for sharing! Oh, and I just love how many cookies it makes. Although there aren't many left now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskoka, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States