Cowboy Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Very nice. 3/4 cup of both sugars is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Delicious, chewy cookies. Like other reviewers have mentioned, they are kind of flat, but that doesn't seem to negatively affect the texture. I will make again with modifications suggested by others to combat flatness. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
These were some of the best oatmeal cookies I've ever tried. I used cinnamon chips instead of chocolate (because I wanted to use them up)and they tasted fantastic! The only problem I had was that the cookies spread a little more than I liked, so I added another handful of oatmeal to the rest of the dough, and the were perfect! Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
well, i took some suggestions of others and used only 3/4 c of both sugars, 2 tsp vanilla, 1egg + 1 yolk. I didnt have a sifter so I could sift the dry ingredients and they never spread. i thought the dough looked dry but i tried anyway. in the oven after 10 minutes i attempted to flatten them, they were in there for about 20 minutes and they are really cakey and crumbly. i'll try again though..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenlines22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
i'm not sure WHY i made this recipe--i think because it had so many ratings. i sure am glad i did! although time consuming (the rest on the cookie sheet before removal) they came out looking like perfection itself! thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
So good! I made these on Saturday but followed some people's suggestion and did 3/4 cup of both sugars and about 2 tsp of vanilla. They turned out great! I brought some to work and they're still chewy and they aren't TOO sweet. An easy recipe that got rave reviews from my co-workers and friends! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I have spent the last 3 days searching for a great recipe - this is it! I tried 4 others and they all came out flat - boo! I read tons of reviews and followed the great advice. Here's what I did: 2 1/2cups flour, 3/4 cups (both sugars), 1/4 tbsp salt, 2tbsp vanilla, 1 egg & 1 yolk, 1 1/4 cups choco chips. Bake 10min @ 350. I did not refrigerate - this mixture gives the cookies a thick doughy texture. Mix the chips by hand - very important. 2 cups of chips are far too many. After 1 cup my husband said that was enough and he's a chocoholic! I have found another staple for our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
These weren't my favorite oatmeal chocolate chip cookies. I tend to like a gooey center and these were more cake like. But they still went over well at a party. The only thing I changed in the recipe was I added cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DairyQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I have an ancient Cowboy Cookie recipe which has been a family fave for several generations. As it has shortening, I opted to try this recipe, many of the ingredients are on target. I used the recommendations of many and increased the vanilla to 2 t., reduced the sugar to 3/4 c. and increased the choc chips to 2 c. (no brainer here) also cooked at 375. A bit disappointed in the results, but will try again as I think the oatmeal I used really took over the recipe. (Coachs Oats, 100% whole grain oatmeal) In days of old, I used the classic quick oatmeal found in most markets. My old recipe differed this way: 1/2 c shortening, 1/2 c. oleo (margarine), 1.5 C. flour, 3 cups quick oatmeal. All other ingredients are the same. Just didn't get the texture and flavor that made these cookies our family fave for so long. Also, I only was able to get 4 dozen cookies of this recipe, but I use 2 ice teaspoons and made good sized cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
very yummy! i used all brown sugar, no white. I had the same problem as others, very thin flat cookies. Next time I will increase the flour by 1/2 cup and add an extra egg white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oneida, New York, USA
Living In: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 334) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States