Cowboy Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
These cookies tasted good in the end but overall were very aggravating to bake. I don't think I'll be adding milk next time as it made the mixture far too runny. The first batch stuck together in a giant rectangle in the oven and I had to cut them into slices! Even then they still seemed sticky although eventually set once I'd laid them on a plate to cool. The second batch almost stuck together and still didn't seem to be set. The third batch I added almost half a cup more flour to and they turned out much better. Also, they took at least 30 minutes to cook, if not more. I always thought gas ovens cooked faster but obviously not in this case. I liked these cookies, although they weren't a favourite, but fiance loved them as he really likes coconut and walnuts. So I'll probably have to make them again some time. They were a lot of fuss to make but now that I know to skip the milk they should work out better next time. Try these if you have a lot of time and patience, and skip the milk! EDIT: I made these again, minus the milk. They still took 20 minutes to cook but were much, much better. I'll definitely be making these again now that I know they're far better without the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: St. Andrews, Fife, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I bake tons of cookies and did NOT like this recipe at all! what a waste of ingredients! The milk made the oatmeal soft and mushy in the cookie. I was onlyable to save them by adding butterscotch chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
These taste wonderful! I did add a little flour to the second batch that I baked since the first one was a little runny though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
The flavors were great, but the first few batches didn't turn out so well. I increased the baking time, and should have added a few extra tablespoons of flour for higher altitude. I also split the batch in half & added walnuts, coconut, and fresh cranberries to one half, then chocolate chips and pecans to the other half. A good recipe, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I made these for a cookie exchange at work. We had all types of cookies and these were the biggest hit! The recipe makes so many that I brought in extra for my co-workers (we work a 6am shift). Only thing I would change next time is to make fewer, that is unless it's for a cookie exchange again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Awesome recipe. I actually think it would be better without the chocolate chips (kids and hubby LOVED the chocolate chips but the chef in me played around with the recipe a bit). I have made this 3 times and the only thing I keep changing is the chocolate chips. I used cinnamon chips the second time I made these and butterscotch chips the 3rd time. I like it with the cinnamon chips the best (a little harder to find but perfect with these cookies). I also put the cookies on wax paper that I sprayed with cooking spray before baking and had NO problem with cookies sticking to the pan. This is a cookie I will make often. I can't wait for the next school bake sale to show these off!! Thanks Sharon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Lokerson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
The Amish in our area tend to over-sweeten their cookies, so, I cut out 1 cup of sugar and they turned out great. I was out of chocolate chips and used raisins instead. I made them bigger than I normally do because the batch is so large.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I scaled this recipe to 1/4. It made 24 cookies. They are my new favorites. I used pecans instead of walnuts, and used a heaping teaspoon to drop cookies. They needed quite a bit of extra cooking time, so I ended cooking the second sheet at 375F. I also sprayed the cookie sheet with PAM on the second tray, since the cookies did not release easily on the first tray. I recommend these cookies. They are chewy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Wow! This makes a ton of cookies. They taste great and the kids did not mind the coconut because of all of the oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dannielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
excellent. i used less chocolate chips and more walnuts, but that is just personal preferance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristy cannon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States