Cowboy Cookie Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This was a great favor I gave out at a party. The ingredients fit perfectly in my containers and the presentation was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jilldushey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Gave as a gift, has a few left over and I just made one. The Brown Sugar was a bit hard, make sure to really tighten the lid. Turned out great, my husband's fav. cookie. For the day after, microwave cookies for 5-7 seconds to soften. Store cookies with a slice of bread to keep soft. Really had to pack it down to get it to fit, so I omited the pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I made the cookie jar mix for Christmas and had a blast. Tonight I made the recipe and they are yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Soooo crumbly. I mixed for what seemed like quite awhile to me, but I'm not sure if that was the issue. Both the batter and the cookies kept falling apart. The flavor is good. If you know enough about how to adjust cookie recipes, you could probably make this one work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by S.Michael
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This was my first attempt at doing Cookies in a Jar. I made 9 total (neighbors, friends, teachers) and it took about an hour having an assembly line set up on my island. I omitted the nuts in case of allergies and everything fit just fine in the jars. I also used a piece of parchment paper rolled in a cone shape to get the ingredients in without making a mess. I layered them (bottom to top) - flour, salt, baking powder, soda, brown sugar, oats, white sugar, chocolate chips. I printed out instructions and glued to red cardstock, cut out with scrapbooking scissors, and tied to jars with pretty Christmas ribbon. I've not made them yet but the feedback so far is that they are delicious and easy! Friends and neighbors loved doing with kids. Great recipe. I'll post photo when I can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S.Michael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
was awesome. Use a funnel to layer in the ingredients nicely. my family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Excellent gift idea. Put the flour in first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfield, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Too hard to enjoy. I am so glad I tested these before giving them as gifts. Tried them while they were still warm and they tasted delicious. Came back to them after they cooled and they were hard. Good for dipping in milk and the children don't mind them, but I was hoping for a softer more chewy cookie. I think I'll try another recipe on this site before settling on one of my own tried and true less colorful, but quite tasty recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ButterflyyMama
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
made these for family and friends at christmas and everyone loved them and commented on what a unique idea it was
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Tanner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Henryville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
These were horribly messy to put together and it's nearly impossible to pack down the layers. I could only get a half cup of chocolate chips into the jar (not the full cup the recipe calls for). Once these are all cleaned up they look nice - but there's about half a cup too much filling listed to fit in the jar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States