Cowboy Cookie Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by kylie
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
EDIT* I just put a jar of this mix together and everything fit perfectly! I used the back of a large stirring spoon to pack everything down*EDIT This was amazing! I tried out this recipe yesterday and I'll definitely be putting it in jars for Christmas gifts in the next few weeks. I took out the walnuts and only had about 3/4 c of mini chocolate chips on hand but that seemed to be plenty. I also had trouble with the dough being too dry so I added a 2nd egg and cooked them for about 8-10 minutes and they were perfect! Husband I can't stop eating them! Thanks for this awesome recipe, besides the extra egg and a shorter cook time I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kylie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
As yummy as they are attractive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
My daughter and I made this as a gift for her teacher. It is very easy to do, just take your time. I added all kinds of extras like peanut butter chips and coconut, and than just adjusted her recipe card that was attached. We made one for ourselves and it turned out very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Discovery Bay, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This was really easy to make and it tastes delicious. My friend had made these for me and then shared the recipe. They were so quick and easy. These are definitely a keeper. The dough is a bit crumbly but I just form the balls by hand and them smash them slightly flat. The recipe for 18 makes pretty large cookies and I had to bake them for 15 minutes at 350F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I took a chance and gave these out as Gifts at Christmas this year. I didn't even test them first!!!!!......As I didn't have time...I just trusted all the REVIEWS and Hoped lol.......Well by Feb....I had gotten two phone messages in the same week from some of the recipients saying they LOVED THESE COOKIES and WOULD LIKE MORE!!!!! Thank you so much for a great Recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I changed the servings to 12 and the ingredients went in the jar perfect. This seems to be the right amount of ingredients for the butter, egg and vanilla too. Not the 18 servings as shown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
SO much tastier than Nestle's recipe and these make an awesome gift in a jar. We like them with 1/4 cup of white sugar - they are almost too sweet, if that's possible. We use the dark Ghirardelli chips (again a bit less than called for in the recipe). I'll never make chocolate chip cookies the "old" way again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Purple Baker
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This became my parents' favorite cookie recipe after I made these for the first time. I put the mix in the jar and left it there for over a week before using it. Here are my tips: 1. Layer the ingredients in this order: flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, oats, brown sugar, white sugar, pecans, chocolate chips. Make sure you shove the chocolate chips into every bit of space at the top. Mine could barely fit! 2. If the brown sugar hardens, dump out all the mix that can come out of the jar. Then stick the whole jar in the microwave next to a bowl of water ONLY IF there is no metal in your jar. Microwave about a minute, and the brown sugar should soften a bit. 3. Try to dump in the chocolate and pecans in last when you add the wet ingredients. If you give this as a gift, tell them to use it as soon as possible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Purple Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Pretty gifts and delicious recipe. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Great flavor, but very crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States