Cowboy Cookie Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I just received a jar of Cowboy cookies for Christmas and they were awesome! What a great gift to give to someone that like homemade desserts. I may give this as a present next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Wow, these were just fabulous! I made these for Christmas gifts, and of course, had to keep a jar for us! Made them tonight -- best cookies ever! I ended up with 24 cookies using the medium cookie scoop. I left out the pecans and used chocolate chunks rather than chips. The jar was really full (which is why the nuts were skipped). Easy recipe. Very nice looking cookies. They stayed as mounds and didn't spread out at all. They tasted just fabulous! Brown sugar and oatmeal, my favorites. And the chocolate chunks added a little extra touch. These have become our new favorites. I recommend them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
These are fabulous cookies.... I had to reduce the oats to 1 1/4, chips to 1/2 and nuts to 1/3 only because I used old mason jars with glass tops with wire latches (not ones with screw on lids) and they must be smaller because I couldn't fit everything as here. After making those adjustments they fit perfect. But nonetheless I wanted to make them to see what I was giving away and to find out what they tasted like. One of the best cookies I have made in a while. Thank you!! Cooked for 11 mins and they turned out a chewy golden brown. Oh and I recommend using margarine not butter, I used smart balance, real butter tends to make cookies crispy/dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
These cookies are delicious and easy to make but I'm holding back one star because....AS WRITTEN IT WON'T FIT IN A 1 QT JAR!!!! I bought my jars at Michaels today and measured the inside to be sure. I also packed in the ingredients but still ended up having to remove some chocolate chips. Next time, I'll cut back on (or omit) the pecans. I baked the recipe yesterday (no jar!) to test it and thought they were really good - nice thick cookies. Just don't over bake them - light golden brown on the bottom is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCAFELD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Segundo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Great presentation-horrible cookie! I should have baked these cookies before making them as gifts. Not only were they super dry, but they fell apart as soon as I took them out of the oven, and then they became rock hard. Very disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Weaverville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
fantastic...my family loves these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I haven't actually baked the cookies yet, but I'm making them as xmas gifts. Just one point of advise. Do it in this order: Flour, bakingsoda, baking powder, salt. Brown sugar White sugar oats chocolate chips nuts. This makes it look a lot nicer and makes the layers more defined. Enjoy them! These make great gifts! Love Jill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This didn't fit in the jar. (Over 1/3 cup of flour would not fit.) The jar thing was the whole point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kylie
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
EDIT* I just put a jar of this mix together and everything fit perfectly! I used the back of a large stirring spoon to pack everything down*EDIT This was amazing! I tried out this recipe yesterday and I'll definitely be putting it in jars for Christmas gifts in the next few weeks. I took out the walnuts and only had about 3/4 c of mini chocolate chips on hand but that seemed to be plenty. I also had trouble with the dough being too dry so I added a 2nd egg and cooked them for about 8-10 minutes and they were perfect! Husband I can't stop eating them! Thanks for this awesome recipe, besides the extra egg and a shorter cook time I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kylie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
As yummy as they are attractive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States