Cowboy Cookie Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
made these for family and friends at christmas and everyone loved them and commented on what a unique idea it was
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Tanner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Henryville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
These were horribly messy to put together and it's nearly impossible to pack down the layers. I could only get a half cup of chocolate chips into the jar (not the full cup the recipe calls for). Once these are all cleaned up they look nice - but there's about half a cup too much filling listed to fit in the jar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Rock! People were very impressed by these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buffy S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneva, Illinois, USA
Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I have seen this recipe on a few sites and think it’s a wonderful idea. I did make a few changes. I used 1 cup of oats, ¾ cup of chocolate chips, ¾ cup of M&M’s (Love the extra color that the M&M’s add to the cookies). I did leave out the pecans, as I am not a nut person. I tried the cookies first of all before I made up the jars (made 28 medium size cookies per batch). The cookies were very good, they had enough crunch on the outside and a wonderful soft inside. I guess the secret is not to over cook them. For the jars, I did find it hard going fitting all the ingredients in, but I am just so pleased with the results. Not only does it look good, but I know the finished product tastes delicious too! I am taking both the jars and the cookies along to a Christmas cookie exchange, I am sure they will be a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I changed the order the ingredients go in the jar and it was much easier and looks better too! I did flour, baking soda and powder then brown sugar followed by pecans, oats, chocolate chips, and then sugar. Make sure you pack after adding each ingredient. Great gift idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I decided to make the cookies first before handing them out as gifts. I agree with some of the reviews that the cookies were somewhat dry. They tasted ok, but I prefer a softer chewy cookie rather that a cookie with the texture of a biscotti. Perhaps, I should of added an extra egg or some milk as suggested by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I made these in several 1 litre jars... They BARELY fit in, I had to really pack it down. But they look pretty and I'm baking a set for myself now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I don't recommend. I followed the recipe exactly, but (1) it wouldn't fit into a 1 quart jar no matter how much I compacted it, (2) the cookie mix was so dry and crumbly it was nearly impossible to make dough balls, (3) the end result wasn't anything special, just a chocolate chip & oatmeal cookie that was rather dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Bee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Made 12 jars of these and everyone really enjoyed them! Will make them again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
great flavor but my dough was crumbly and i had to add more egg, flour and oats to get a good consistency. did anyone else have this problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States