Cowboy Cookie Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
The whole point is to put it in a jar, not a jar plus a zip lock bag. Not attractive for gift giving. I might try again with the ingredients in a different order.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsie Price

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I made these for Thanksgiving to test them out before I do them up for Christmas. Yummie cookies. I can't wait to give the jars as presents. I will be putting them in gift bags with aprons as gifts. Thanks for sharing the recipe and the great idea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This mix looks great in the jar but I barely (and I mean BARELY) was able to get all of it in the jar. I packed the ingredients in tight and double checked the size recommendation on the jar. I'm just hoping that it doesn't make an enormous mess when it is opened!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I reveresed the order of the ingredietns..and turned out great. I bought really pretty glass jars and it looks beautiful for gift giving this season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Awesome cookies... they taste better after a day or two. Fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberly marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This is a great recipe. I did add an extra egg as other reviewers suggested and I didn't have to use my hands at all (the dough came together nicely with the extra egg and I just used my cookie scoop). The flavor was still excellent, but I didn't have to fuss with doing everything by hand, so I recommend adding an extra egg! As a jar cookie, these work great, too. I am giving them as Christmas gifts, so far to rave reviews! Be sure to pack each level tight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
First of all, the mix looks beautiful in the jar. To the reviewers who said it didn't fit: (1) Make sure you're firmly packing down each level as you do it to make sure there will be room in the jar. (2) When you're measuring your flour, don't dip your cup measure into the flour and dump it into the jar. Loosely spoon the flour into the measuring cup, level it off with a knife, then put it into the jar. I did this one 1/3-cup at a time so I could press down each level. If you're dipping your measuring cup directly into the flour you could potentially have twice the amount of flour you need, as this method packs the flour in more tightly. If you measure the flour correctly, all the ingredients should fit perfectly with not an inch to spare. I baked the cookies myself and they burned to a crisp. I apparently have a different view of "walnut-sized." :) I tried again and kept a closer eye on the cookies, and they turned out beautifully. I'm not a big fan of oatmeal in my cookies but it's not an overwhelming taste, and I ended up liking them very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Made it just like the recipe- it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I received this as a gift last year and I fell in love. Probably the best cookies I have ever had! So to spread the cookie goodness, I am giving them out this year. Definitely a recipe you can't go wrong with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I made this recipe twice before I made up jars for gifts. I found that cutting up the stick of butter and letting it soften instead of melting it made a more cohesive dough. The melted butter didn't mix as thoroughly and the dough fell apart as I tried to form balls. With the softened butter the dough was evenly moist and the cookies were easier to work with and had better flavor. I also found that moistening my hands helped to keep the dough from sticking to them when I formed the balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States