Cowboy Cookie Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
It needs a little TWEEKIN', need to add a little water, and less oats to fit in the jar. I started with 1/3 c oats, then packed it all in, then topped it off with more oats if I had room.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This is the worst cookie recipe ever! I'm so glad I tried it before I gave it to anyone. The dough was dry and would not hold together, nor would it hold the chips and nuts. When cooked, the cookies were bland and tasteless, dry, and the ugliest thing I've ever seen. I have blue ribbons from the fair for my baking, so I know whereof I speak. I will never make these cookies again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This recipe made some excellent cookies for me and the jars were fun to make(a bit of a pain to pack down). But when I gave the jars away as gifts last year I got complaints. I filled the jars about a week or so before giving them and those who waited a while (a few weeks or so)to make the cookies had problems. Apparently the brown sugar hardened and wouldnt come out of the jar except with a chisel and hammer. So, I would recommend not letting the mix sit in the jar for too long. But aside from that the cookies are super yummy and the jars looked beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I thought I was packing hard, but like others, I couldn't quite fit everything. Leaving out the nuts it just barely fit. I scooped by teaspoonfuls instead of forming balls, and the first batch was a tad too crispy around the edges. I made the cookies a bit bigger in later batches and they stayed chewier. Will definitely made again, really great cookies, and will probably try the gift jar again. It was a pretty & inexpensive gift with a personal touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
The batter is very dry and crumbly when prepared as directed. Nonetheless, I resisted my impulse to add a little moisture, and the cookies turned out fine. A bit dense and hearty, but tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Great cookies. One of the best that I have eaten. I had a huge problem getting everything in the 1 quart jar I will go to the next size up the next time I make these. I am sure that will do the trick. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
These were very good. I had to add 1/4 cup of water to help everything stay together. I made a batch to test them before giving as gifts and now I'm eating myself sick because they're so moist and delicious. I layered them with the flour & salt & baking powder and soda on bottom, then packed down the brown sugar, then all the chocolate chips, then the oats, then the white sugar on top. (I left out the nuts--I don't know how hard you have to pack things to fit those in.) You can't see much of the white sugar but I was more interested in seeing the other colors/textures. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I made 14 of these jar mixes for Christmas and they were a huge hit. I made another batch yesterday at my husband's request. He couldn't wait until Christmas to have them again. I used peanut butter chips this time instead of the chocolate and he devoured them. He suggested trying cinnamon chips next time. If you are new to making jar cookie mixes, definitely layer the flour first otherwise everything else in the jar will end up covered in white powder as the flour settles. I will admit that I did not put the pecans in the jar. It was pretty tight so I just added a little more of the chocolate chips and noted on the instruction card that the cookies would be delicious with some chopped pecans, if desired...not everyone likes nuts in their cookies. (I'm not one of those people, these cookies are definitely better with the pecans!) These cookies are delicious and I will be making them again this Christmas. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I made the recipe as written except that I added an additional egg, as one of the reviewers suggested. These cookies were delicious, my in laws loved them! I am definitely going to give these jars as a gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I used this recipe for a craft in my MOPS group. It was a hit. Very easy and fun. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States