Cowboy Cookie Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Made far too much to fit in the jar. Cookies were just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hobbycook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
These are delicious! I was able to fit almost everything in the 1 quart jars. I started with the flour, then oatmeal, then Chocolate Chips, then brown sugar and white sugar and I topped it off with the pecans. I packed each layer down very well. Each jar had a different amount of pecans as I just put enough to fill up the rest of the jar. I will save this recipe to use every Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chickentarian
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Despite the directions stating to layer in order, be sure to put the flour in first. If not the flour seeps into the layer of chocolate. I used M&M's and there seemed to be more space for seeping. Also, I have a small gravy ladle that fits perfectly into the mouth of my jars, and with it's shape it makes pressing the layers down perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickentarian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This is a delicious cookie, and the mix fits nicely into the jar, as long as you smush down each layer as tightly as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Really neat gift idea! The cookies arn't bad either :) I couldn't fit it all in the jar so, I left out 1/4 cup of the chocolate chips and 1/3 cup of the oats. It didn't effect the yumminess of the cookies, in fact they are more moist without some of the oats. Even with leaving out those ingredents I BARELY could pack it all in to a quart sized Mason Jar. I put the flour (pre mixed with the baking soda, salt, and baking powder) on the bottom. I then put in the brown sugar, white sugar, pecans, chocolate chips, and oats. This way the flour doesn't dust all the other ingrdients, and also you can make sure you have enough room. If you don't you can eliminate oats and chocolate chips instead of a more important ingrident.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITCHENTROLL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Per other reviews, I also added an extra egg which made the cookies quite moist. When I layered in a jar this was the order: combined the sugar and flour mixture (w/ baking soda, baking powder, & salt) and put that in first; then chocolate chips, brown sugar, and rolled oats. I then put the pecans in a ziplock bag and stapled it to the back of the recipe card. This way if the recipients didn't like nuts in their cookies, they weren't stuck with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Okay I skipped the whole jar thing even thought I think its a great idea and I just made the cookies! They were fabulous, my husband loved them and my dad said they were the best cookies I have ever made! Super quick and easy and not much mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Based on other reviews, I added 2 tablespoons of milk to the mix to make them more moist. I thought the cookies were tasty but even with adding the milk, the texture was a bit dry. I think adding another tablespoon of milk would make them just right. I also think adding a teaspoon of cinnamon would add extra flavor to the cookie. Overall, it's an average cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I give these as teacher gifts. They are a great presentation and by far the best ccokie I have made. I like crunch and these are perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I tried this recipe again last night. I kept everything the same, but added one more egg. What a world of difference it made! My husband couldn't believe they were the same cookies. Much more moist and chewy! The cookie dough looked like dough is supposed to and stuck together so much better. I set up an assembly line to make alot of mixes. I just dumped everything into a 1 quart bag without packing anything down or putting it in any order to make it look pretty. Got about 20 done in under an hour. Once I get the cow-print bags made up, I'll post a picture on here of the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mountaimuffin7183

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabeth, Colorado, USA
Living In: Eagle, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States