Cowboy Cookie Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
The cookies were amazing! We baked them to test the recipe before we use them for gifts, and we will definitely be giving these to friends for the holidays. The ingredients fit perfectly in the wide-mouthed quart jar. We used an empty water bottle to press down each layer. The next day, we heated them in the microwave for 10-15 seconds on high power to make them warm and soft as if they had just come out of the oven. We highly recommend this recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This recipe makes a great teacher gift and always gets rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Gave this as gifts last year, was awesome. Use a funnel to layer in the ingredients nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
TASTY! Did fill quart jar just right! Made with (red & green) m&m's for Christmas gifts... kept one for us to try. Better with m&m's than just chocolate chips:) Made some smaller than suggested & were good; bigger seemed to stay more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by otisthorpe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Hallelujah!!! These are faboo! I've just eaten one fresh from the cooling rack, and it will be hard to control myself. They are supposed to be for dinner tomorrow night. Fat Chance!!! I used pecans and real butter (as any good Amish wannabe would!) Try these; you won't be sorry. Blessings!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
These were a huge hit with my kids teachers! I love the advice of turning the recipe into a cowboy poem. Definitely reverse the order of the ingredients into the jar or else the flour will sink to the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I used these as Christmas gifts and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This baked up very well, but the order of the ingredients is wrong if you don't want flour getting into the choc chips. The order I used was flour(pre-combined with the bp, baking soda and salt), oats, brown sugar, white sugar, pecans and choc chips. As I was giving this to friends who don't bake at all I experimented with using canola oil instead of melted butter (people who don't bake tend to only have spreads which ruin baked goods) and it works perfectly. None of the recipients had ever seen a cookie mix jar before and seemed to really enjoy the novelty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louiselombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westville, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Great Recipe... although I didn't eat them- I gave them away as gifts. You DO have to put the ingredients in backwards, thanks for the tips. One person I gave them to said "best cookie ever"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Photo by tng214
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Really great recipe and gift. Looks wonderful in the jar and tastes great. Just maybe y new favorite cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tng214

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States