Cowboy Cookie Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Just made this as a Christmas gift for my siblings! Fantastic idea and they look so pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Used Quick oats. Reduced white sugar to slightly under 1/3 cup. Layered the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt first so the presentation looks really nice. Reduced choc. chips to 3/4 cup and used slightly less pecans, made some cookies smaller and some bigger. I like the smaller, they cook in 12 minutes, the bigger needed some more time. Making smaller cookies, the recipe should make 30 cookies. Cookies baked nicely, didn't flatten out, were easy to make, taste great, are different, and a nice gift idea. One question: where do cowboy cookies come from, I never heard of them before?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This year for Christmas, I decided to give these for gifts. I baked them first to make sure they tasted good & they do. My only problem is fitting everything in the jar! I followed the directions first then tried a suggestion from another review. I also tried mixing the nuts & chocolate chips together but came up 1/4 cup short. HELP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This is one of the best recipes ever. I baked it for some friends and family of mine before sending them off as gifts and it was a HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I gave the jars as gifts to those who hosted Bridal Showers for me. I thought they were very cute and the cookies are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I LOVE these cookies!! I used to make them years ago for my family and friends, but the recipe was lost in a yard sale and I couldn't find its match anywhere. Imagine my delight at finding it on Allrecipes! It truly made my Christmas! This recipe is so simple and fun, I love the jar ideas too, what a wonderful way to share my favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Sorry, but this cookie wasn't very good. The MELTED margarine in it made it so the oatmeal and chocolate chips wouldn't mix it very well and they got HARD, quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Tastes Great! You REALLY have to push down the ingredients to make it fit, but I know they'll be a hit this Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccgirliemom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
The jar looked great and the layers - with their different colors and textures - make for a very nice presentation. However, the cookie was very average and had way to many oats for my taste. Looking for a better cookie in a jar recipe that I could offer as a gift this coming Christmas, I tried Julia's Best Ever Chocolate Chip Cookies In A Jar (also found on this site). Julia's cookies tasted heavenly! The look of the jar is not as pretty as this one, but hey... who cares about the jar? It's the cookie that matters! So... if you are just after a pretty looking cookie in a jar recipe, this is it -- but if you want an outstanding cookie, try Julia's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Very good cookies but added a bit more milk :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Strathclair, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States