Cowboy Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
So simple, so delicious. Follows recipe exactly. I wouldn't change a thing. Made rice to accompany and the "gravy" was wonderful over the top of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
i paired this with "black beans, corn, and yellow rice" recipe from this site and warm tortillas.. was very yummy and easy to make .. the only change i made was i cooked it in the slow cooker instead of oven, very tender and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This was so simple but yet so good. I used chicken quarters, so my baking time was off but no biggy. I just really enjoyed the hint of sweetness. It was quick and easy and tasted great. That's a 5 for sure. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
My husband & I really enjoyed this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Pretty good. I cut down the brown sugar but could've left it the same--probably because the salsa I used was spicier (it was a medium picante sauce), so it would've been fine with the added sweetness. I just tend to use less sugar in general bc I'm not a huge sweet fan so even where most people are okay with the amount of sugar, I cut it back. As for the baking time--use your judgment. I used frozen chicken breasts that I've used before that usually only take 30 min (even from frozen), but it took closer to 50 min and I'm not sure why. So I'd just recommend with boneless skinless chicken breasts you start checking at 30 min and go from there. With the recipe submitter's comments about making this with bone in chicken, I definitely get the 1 hour bake time. Sometimes that isn't enough with bone in chicken in my oven! So, use your judgment and check your chicken to be sure. The chicken was flavorful and easy. I could see this being a good crockpot dish--probably 4 hours on low would make a nice, moist, shreddable chicken for sandwiches. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Very easy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This recipe is a hit at my house. Make it with Mexican Cornbread and it will be a realy crowd pleaseer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I've made this repeatedly, with a variety of salsas, and every time it turns out delicious. I use 3tbsp of honey instead of brown sugar, which I find works out really well--the more liquid, the better, I figure! This has turned into a great go-to dinner when I'm tired and don't want to think too hard about cooking, because I don't even have to worry about defrosting the chicken--it defrosts and cooks just fine while it's in the oven. Also, sometimes I throw in vegetables with the chicken, too. They cook up very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Loved this but will use a shallow pan like the recipe suggested as my chicken took a little longer to bake. Used medium salsa and an extra tbs of brown sugar like others suggested. Next time I think I will salt the chicken before I add it to the pan to bake as it did need a little salt and pepper. Thanks for a nice, tastey recipe. Will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATWEIGAND
Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Exotic Pomegranate Chicken

Pomegranate juice makes a great marinade for baked chicken.

Oven-Fried Chicken II

See a delicious, healthier way to make fried chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States