Cowboy Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
If you are fan of *bright* flavors like cilantro, drop the black eyed peas and use fresh de-seeded jalapenos. I also recommend rinsing any beans before using them for a purer flavor and less sodium. Also, Trader Joe's sells a frozen corn that is "fire-roasted." the kernels are big and striped with the roastedness. Works great in a dish like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsV

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
This is great! I added a diced avocado and left out the black-eyed peas, but threw in some extra black beans. Delicious - and a real hit at every party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stylistmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2006
I've made this several times and EVERYONE asks for the recipe. I use green onions instead of white and I omit the bell pepper (because I don't like it.) Also Wishbone Robusto makes a great choice for teh sald dressing. A few of the other reviewers commented on it being to watery... I have found that the longer it sets the more liquid is absorbed. Tastes great with Frito Scoops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
I served this at a recent gathering at my house. It was almost gone by the end of the night - and there were only seven of us eating it! The only thing I added was the juice of one lime. It was wonderful that night, and the little bit of left over was even more delicious the next day. What a great way to get your veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AEWILLIA521

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
The Kraft Zesty Italian dressing and extra garlic powder really makes this salsa. When I take the time to chop peppers and onions, it is such a great gourmet salsa. My friends have raved over and over when I make this. They even request that I bring it to parties. I've added extra types beans to this as well, which makes it all the more interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
when I first read the recipe, I thought this was too simple to be impressive...but it was fantastic! I made it for a cinco de mayo party and people would not stop talking about it. (They ignored my flan and other way harder things to make!) I almost make a batch weekly over the summer - add grilled chicken or rice etc...for an entire meal. Don't go overboard on the cilantro, too much can kill it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAH243

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I used a bag of frozen mexican veggie mix, it was already seasoned and chopped so it made it extra easy. I left out the peppers for personal preference and used taco seasoning and garlic salt. We put the caviar in the middle of openfaced cojack cheese and bacon quesadillas. It was so good! We ate the leftovers with chips and then made more!!! It was so easy. It took like 5 minutes to make the caviar and like 10 to do the quesadillas--yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I was kind of afraid of the Italian dressing in this recipe but it turned out REALLY good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
Yumm!!! I had to make a 2nd batch at a party on the fly to keep up with how fast my guests were eating it. We love it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This variation of cowboy caviar differs slightly from the one I've seen on other sites. I altered mine to make it more like those. I added one ripe avocado, used fresh tomatoes instead of canned and instead of garlic salt, I used a half a teaspoon of regular salt and 4 cloves of fresh garlic chopped up in a food processor. I also used half the amount of picked jalapeno peppers they call for here. That seems like a crazy amount to me and I do like spicy food. I think that next time I'm going to use the Kraft Zesty Italian Dressing and add some lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEF-JEFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States