Cowboy Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2009
I made a double batch to bring to work and it was all gone by lunch time! I did tweek it a little. I added the juice of one lime, left out the cilantro, and added diced green chiles instead of the jalapenos, then simply served it with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Jo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Outstanding. I only used about half of the italian dressing, that was plenty. I ate this for dinner one night! Would be wonderful with grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Very easy, light & healthy. I used pinto & black beans (couldn't find canned black-eyed at my store), went heavy on the cilantro, and used Paul Newman's light lime viniagrette for the dressing. As a finishing touch, I squeezed a lime over the whole thing. Lime & cilantro are one of my favorite combinations. Guests ate it up. Great on tortilla chips or fritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Very, very tasty! Omitted the cilantro (personal taste). Easy recipe that gets better as it sits. We had some leftover spaghetti noodles that we sliced up a bit and threw in the following day. It was fantastic! I thought I had Zesty or Robusto Italian dressing but didn't. I would've used that instead of straight Italian but it wasn't even missed. It was quite "robusto" enough on its own. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Absolutely delicious ! I was wary about the whole cup of Italian dressing, but it worked great ! I also added a diced avocado and a dribble of lime juice. This is one I'll be making again. Thank you !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chorg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I make a similiar dip...HOWEVER i add feta (which makes the dip), fresh garlic and 1 can shoepeg corn. ALso, i serve it with Fritos scoops....EVERYONE loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I made this and took it to school to share with my fellow workers. Everyone asked for the recipe. I doubled the recipe and reduced the jalepenòs to 1 tbsp. for those like me who don't like it too spicy. Excellent recipe. I make it over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsbluff, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
This is an awesome recipe. I bring it everywhere and always get asked for the recipe. I don't like tomatoes so I use roasted red peppers in their place. I also use fat free Italian dressing and serve it with baked scoops. This makes it a very healthy snack to bring, without anyone thinking they're eating healthy. I sometimes mix this recipe with lettuce and reduced fat cheese for an awesome southwestern salad. That gets rave reviews also. There are many variations on this recipe, but I like this one the best. Always go for the fresh cilantro as it makes it taste so fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimmyAnnDee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
If you are fan of *bright* flavors like cilantro, drop the black eyed peas and use fresh de-seeded jalapenos. I also recommend rinsing any beans before using them for a purer flavor and less sodium. Also, Trader Joe's sells a frozen corn that is "fire-roasted." the kernels are big and striped with the roastedness. Works great in a dish like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsV

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
When I make this, everyone raves. They think that it takes a long time to make. I almost want to tell them that it did, just to impress. But then they ask for the recipe, and find out the truth. I even had a Cardiologist compliment me on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HotMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States