Cowboy Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I have made this recipe many times. I only wish it was easier to reduce the serving size but tough to do with all of the canned ingredients. I like to add additional jalapenos as the base recipe doesn't have a lot of kick. I typically drop in some red pepper sauce as well. Sometimes substitute black-eyed peas with chili beans, just a personal preference. Outstanding appetizer and healthy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
SO GOOD! Excellent as a topping on fish tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I made this recipe for the superbowl and it was a huge success! Everyone loved it and asked for the recipe. Definitely a keeper. Note: I used light Italian dressing to reduce the fat content and it was just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bella888

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cara
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Excellent!! I went by the recipe for everything except the garlic salt and instead added some jarred chopped garlic, and I also made my own Italian dressing from a packet instead of using it from a bottle. This is cheap, easy, and yummy! I will likely keep a bowl of this made in the fridge from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Have made this several times and it's always a winner. I use no fat italian dressing and cut amount to 1/2 cup, tastes fine. Have also used navy and pinto beans, makes no difference - still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Excellent! My children, myself, and my husband all loved this dish. I used about half of the italian dressing called for (that was plenty) and squeezed in the juice of one lime. I also used fresh jalapeno instead of pickled. I absolutely will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staley, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This is delicious, but it was very "liquidy", even after sitting for a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I am always surprised how fast this disappears! When I have the time I make some small changes such as replacing garlic salt with fresh garlic sauteed with the onions, charring the corn in a hot skillet, replacing the jalapenos with some roasted hatch chiles, and replacing the dressing with some EVOO and balsamic. Recipe is a winner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Great for parties with chips. Always a hit and I am constantly asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
What a great recipe! Always a hit at my house and has been for years - HOWEVER...if you are looking for a comparable appetizer in a jar, check out Cowboy Caviar at www.cowboycaviar.com It is a vegetable spread made with 100% Fresh Vegetables and I have started using it both as an appetizer and as a garnish for other appetizers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States