Cowboy Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Very Good!! Made 30 hours in advance of party. I was worried that might have been too far in advance...but it was excellent. Many comments and questions on the recipe. For the Italian dressing I used the 'good seasons' dressing packet mix. To keep Italian dressing from separating, I first whirled dressing for a couple of seconds in blender prior to pouring over beans. I used the trades joe's frozen fire roasted corn, as was previously suggested. The fire roasted flavor was great addition. (someone even asked me how I had roasted the corn) I served this as an appetizer with Tostitos white corn chip scoops. I was planning to serve with Fritos scoops, but when I sampled it with the Fritos, it really overpowered it and made it taste 'off'. Luckily I had time to send my son to the store to pick up other chips :) The tostitos scoops are lighter and seemed to play better with the marinade. It says serving size of 8, but as an appetizer it serves more like 20. I've had similar appetizers, but this one is a great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
YUMMY!!!! I like to call this redneck caviar...being from the south. I could eat this stuff everyday, and it is good for you too! Made exactly as the recipe was written. Don't leave out the black eyed peas like other have said. Trust me, I really don't care for them either, but they don't taste like black eyed peas when they are mixed up with everything. You will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yummy 4 Tummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Super easy and very good. This recipe always gets compliments and is eaten up. Like others I used only 1/2 cup calorie wise Kraft Zesty Italian dressing. I also omit the black eyed peas and use pinto beans or more black beans also add a diced red pepper. I have also turned this in to a great chicken chili recipe. I add this recipe ( I use the 1 cup dressing for this) plus 3 cubes chicken breasts in slow cooker on high for 5-6 hours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by augustmoon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Of all the cowboy caviar-type recipes here on allrecipes, I've found this one best suits my tastes and it's a huge hit at our church dinners. Pastor can't get enough :) I make it exactly as posted, only exchanging all black beans since black-eyed peas aren't a favorite with me. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrammaKD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I've been making this recipe for years. So good. I have to say, if I can I use "fresh" tomatoes it gives it a much better flavor and look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Valentine Spratt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I LOVE THIS!! My mom usually adds shredded cabbage and carrots - don't knock it till you've tried it! I love the extra crunch it gives it. I don't think it needs a whole cup of dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilymarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Did not care much for this recipe some cubed avocado and diced serrano or jalapeno chili would help along with some chopped cilantro, make sure to drain your beans well or mixture will be soupy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This was fairly easy to make and it came out pretty well, but I put on a whole cup of Italian dressing and it was WAY too much. It was swimming in dressing. I put it in a colander to drain the dressing and after that the salad was much improved. Otherwise, it was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
This is delicious. I didn't follow the recipe precisely. I chucked the onion, a whole red bell pepper, a handful of green onions and a handful of cilantro in the food processor and chopped it all together, then just mixed that with the beans, corn and dressing. I was skeptical about the Italian dressing, but trusted others' reviews that the Kraft Zesty Italian was the way to go, and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
So Good! I just used what I had, no measurements. Black eyed peas, corn, canned tomatoes, ground red pepper, italian dressing, avocado. Mixed it up, baked corn tortillas - 10 minutes in the oven on each side. Really, it's that easy. Doesn't even need to marinate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States