Cowboy Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I make this a lot and always get asked for the recipe. I used a canned tomato with jalepeno (drained) and then don't add jalepenos. I also use a roasted red pepper vinagrette. Kraft makes one as well as Safeway Select. I always serve with Scoops but I have had people that eat it as a salad. I always have most everything on hand because it makes a quick last minute appetizer to bring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This is a great combination of flavors, the only thing is that next time I will def half the amount called for. It made so much-great though if you're having a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocksteady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe. I have made it a few times and everyone that tries it, loves it. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin Kietzman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I love all things SPICY, but since the kids were eating this one too I used 1/4 Cup of Jalepeno Slices. The kids loved it and so did I. With less jalapenos it still pleanty of kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I found this recipe right before the holidays and used for several occasions. This was a big hit. The recipe makes alot though so be prepared. It keeps well for over a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This is my new favorite thing to bring to parties!! Everyone loves it and it's gone within minutes!! I modify the recipe a little - I use 1 can white corn, .5 cup frozen yellow corn, pickled jalepenos (approx. 1/4 cup), approx 1 whole diced sweet onion, 1/4 cup cilantro chopped finely, 1/4 cup green onions chopped finely, 2-3 tomatoes, 1 cup black eyed peas, .5 to .75 cup shredded cheddar cheese and almost entire reg. bottle Kens Italian Dressing. This is such a great recipe because of all the flavors, it's like nothing you've tasted before!! Definitely a party hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Littlethings

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Always a hit a parties. Sometimes I serve it with pita chips or tortilla chips. I also like to use sweet Italian dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetPea
Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: O Fallon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I was kind of afraid of the Italian dressing in this recipe but it turned out REALLY good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
The Kraft Zesty Italian dressing and extra garlic powder really makes this salsa. When I take the time to chop peppers and onions, it is such a great gourmet salsa. My friends have raved over and over when I make this. They even request that I bring it to parties. I've added extra types beans to this as well, which makes it all the more interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
I am not much of a cook AT ALL but I love this recipe. An equally kitchenly-challenged friend of mine recommended this recipe and told me it was SUPER easy and that I should definitely be able to handle it ( I can , after all, manage to use a can opener successfully!). I just got done and pretty much went with the recipe. I followed another contributor's suggestion that lime juice be used and I happened to have a lime so I squeezed it in. Other than that, I just went with the original recipe.. I tried it after 20 minutes and just added salt. I'm bringing it to a party tomorrow and am rather certain it will be a hit--wish me luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States