Cowboy Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
An awesome recipe. I've had it for years and its never a let down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2002
You just have to try 'em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
This is THE BEST!! I am proud to tell you that I was able to convert this to a bread machine recipe (okay, if that isn't truly a big deal, please don't burst my bubble, my nickname in high school was blonde roots). I put the water, milk, sugar and melted butter in the machine first, then stirred in the yeast and let it all sit for 5 minutes. I then piled the rest in as directed BUT I DID increase salt to a teaspoon and I DECREASED THE FLOUR to 3 1/3 cups. I set the machine on the dough cycle and let it go! When it was done, I put the dough in an oiled bowl and let it kinda rise again. I followed the recipe the rest of the way as written. It does taste a LOT like Pita and it is soooo good!! THANK YOU!!!! ***Added 7/3/2007, this recipe has been a family favorite. This is one bread that my kids actually bargain with me to make:). The ONLY thing I do different is I use my Wolfgang Puck Bistro Grill and fry this bread in a bigger batch. Thanks for giving my family something to reminisce about:).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Grimes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
i've tried this recipe and i can quite honestly say it is good! i loved that i can mix in any herbs or spices depending on my mood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianajohari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batu Pahat, Johor, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
My husband LOVES these and they are a great alternative to naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
Turned out great. Reminds me of the fresh baked flat breads you get in Iranian restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hoofddorp, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
Very nice, clearly written recipe. The end result was similar to Syrian bread. The dough was very easy with which to work, and the stove top cooking was much less cumbersome oven baking. The bread itself can be used in a variety of applications. The recipe is a "find" and I will be using it often. Thank you, Kasienko
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe, I've used several different recipes for flatbread, and this is by far the easiest I've ever used. I made a few of these with different additions, such as sun dried tomatoes, garlic, cinnamon&sugar and cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This is like the fried dough my mom use to make with left over dough from bread making day. She called it fried fritters. mmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moommist

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
My mother made these when I was a kid many years ago. She served them with butter and syrup like a pancake only much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States