Cowboy Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
An awesome recipe. I've had it for years and its never a let down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
Very nice, clearly written recipe. The end result was similar to Syrian bread. The dough was very easy with which to work, and the stove top cooking was much less cumbersome oven baking. The bread itself can be used in a variety of applications. The recipe is a "find" and I will be using it often. Thank you, Kasienko
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
Turned out great. Reminds me of the fresh baked flat breads you get in Iranian restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hoofddorp, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
My husband LOVES these and they are a great alternative to naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
Unfortunately, this hardly turned out the way I thought although I followed the recipe exactly. It tasted like Indian Bhatoore. The taste was fine but not like pita bread. I baked these in the oven and my husband found them better that way, at least saved on oil calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
WOW! Very different. Very good. We love pita and this was similar but soft and puffy! The nutmeg gives it a very good taste, but not like you'd imagine. We'll be making this bread a lot! Thank you for this unique recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
Kinda like pita bread, except I couldn't get it to cut like pita. A little oily but very good all the same. This will go bad pretty fast if you don't keep it in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
i've tried this recipe and i can quite honestly say it is good! i loved that i can mix in any herbs or spices depending on my mood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianajohari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batu Pahat, Johor, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
This is THE BEST!! I am proud to tell you that I was able to convert this to a bread machine recipe (okay, if that isn't truly a big deal, please don't burst my bubble, my nickname in high school was blonde roots). I put the water, milk, sugar and melted butter in the machine first, then stirred in the yeast and let it all sit for 5 minutes. I then piled the rest in as directed BUT I DID increase salt to a teaspoon and I DECREASED THE FLOUR to 3 1/3 cups. I set the machine on the dough cycle and let it go! When it was done, I put the dough in an oiled bowl and let it kinda rise again. I followed the recipe the rest of the way as written. It does taste a LOT like Pita and it is soooo good!! THANK YOU!!!! ***Added 7/3/2007, this recipe has been a family favorite. This is one bread that my kids actually bargain with me to make:). The ONLY thing I do different is I use my Wolfgang Puck Bistro Grill and fry this bread in a bigger batch. Thanks for giving my family something to reminisce about:).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Grimes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
This bread turns out almost identical to pita.It is extremely easy to make, but takes about a day to double in size. I reccomend spices or add-ins, for it is rather plain (but nummy!). Make sure not to roll it out too thin -- soft tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States